Bacon and Caramelized Onion Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
What a beautiful and delicious roll! As much as they sound time consuming, these rolls were fast, easy and addicting. The dough was easy to work with, which is always a plus. I may have added a little more filling than it called for, but otherwise I kept everything the same. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I have found my Christmas morning rolls! These are delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. I got 16 sweet caramelized onion (canned by DH), bacon and cheese rolls. Each ingredient you can taste distinctly. And, goodness you can eat with one hand. These would be great for breakfast. I served with Chicken noodle soup from this site. I am just learning to make breads and rolls using yeast and this recipe turned out fabulous in taste and texture. I will be making these for many meals. I also think it would be easy to tweak. How about cranberries, swiss cheese and toasted or candied walnuts? Yeah, think I'll try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Went a little different with this idea. I didn't have Port so I subbed Marsala. Added a good pinch of Italian seasoning with the onions. Intended to use 6 cheese Italian blend but rolled and cut and realized I forgot the cheese (sitting right in front of me) so sprinkled some on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These were amazing! The dough was actually very easy to work with- I found I needed to add a few more pinches of flour to keep my hands from sticking so keep your flour stash nearby. At the recommendation of another cook, I did not have port wine so I substituted 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and a tablespoon of sugar to make mock wine. It turned out perfectly. If you have any leftover dough from the ends, shape it into tiny loaves and bake them along side the rolls. They turn into wonderful mini loaves of bread for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
These are not rolls you want to make when pressed for time, but they are so totally worth any time it takes! I didn't use the smoked Cheddar cheese, but I will next time---the sharp Cheddar is good, but the smoked would be best! Port wine, a fortified and thus storable wine, is perfect for these rolls. I added a tablespoon of flour to my dough but could easily have used one more (it always depends on the atmosphere as to how much flour is needed). The process of making these is just like making cinnamon rolls. I would urge you when rolling out the dough to stretch the ball of dough to the length you want it and then roll it out on a well-floured surface from there. It's hard to start it from a ball and hope to get it into a rectangle because it wants to keep finding its own shape! I like to leave the rolls just slightly at the golden brown stage so that when I go to heat them in a hot oven without a cover they will brown just a tad more. My house smelled so wonderful from baking these! And it was the perfect complement to a ham and bean soup! Oh, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These were absolutely great. I made some changes (I always do, can't help it). I added some shallots with the onions, then about half way through caramelizing I added some minced fresh rosemary. I also used more of everything (bacon, cheese, onions) and added some fresh chopped chives for colour and flavour. I didn't have any wine, so I just skipped it...the onions are sweet and I don't think I missed much by leaving it out. I would emphasize that the onions need at least 20 minutes over medium heat to be perfect...rushing will ruin them. I didn't have smoked cheese, so I used aged cheddar instead. Flavour and texture was perfect. The only minor criticism I can think of is that 3T of butter for brushing left me with at least 1T left wasted. Oh, and I also cut them a bit too large and came out with 8 rolls....but they were cooked at 22 minutes...any smaller and I think they would have been over-done at that time. Make sure the muffin tin is really well greased...I think I will try just baking them on a tray next time. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These were ok, nothing special. Usually everyone eats all of my rolls, but I had leftovers with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used my bread machine and made a basic dinner roll dough then followed steps exactly as listed. A+ and then some! Not complicated at all and they turned out beautifully! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Oh yeah these are fabulous! Definitely holiday worthy. I was a bit nervous about the port wine since I've never had it but it was wonderful. I didn't cook then in a muffin tin, I just used a 9x13 pan. The dough was easy to work with. The kids weren't very thrilled with these but us adults loved them. They reheated well the next day too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I forgot to add in the cheese before rolling these up, but I did top with a little cheese and these were really good as is. Next time I make these, the cheese will add even more. I added in garlic to my onions and smoked paprika to the flour mixture, because I didn't have smoked cheddar. I was looking for a roll to go with grilled type food and these are the perfect fit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States