Bacon and Caramelized Onion Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by duboo
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I forgot to add in the cheese before rolling these up, but I did top with a little cheese and these were really good as is. Next time I make these, the cheese will add even more. I added in garlic to my onions and smoked paprika to the flour mixture, because I didn't have smoked cheddar. I was looking for a roll to go with grilled type food and these are the perfect fit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Excellent, just follow the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatumup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Something went wrong here. The flavor was not bad, they definitely have potential. But I didn't put them in muffin cups, and I think that was part of the problem. I put them on cookie sheets, and I could watch them get flatter and flatter, rising more sideways than up. We ended up with something we referred to as "flatbread". I also didn't have onions, so I skipped those, I don't know if that had to do with it too. I'm not sure if I'll try again. Maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These were ok, nothing special. Usually everyone eats all of my rolls, but I had leftovers with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My family adored these rolls! I made them to go with a loaded baked potato soup recipe my mother's had for years and these rolls were the perfect complement. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These were absolutely great. I made some changes (I always do, can't help it). I added some shallots with the onions, then about half way through caramelizing I added some minced fresh rosemary. I also used more of everything (bacon, cheese, onions) and added some fresh chopped chives for colour and flavour. I didn't have any wine, so I just skipped it...the onions are sweet and I don't think I missed much by leaving it out. I would emphasize that the onions need at least 20 minutes over medium heat to be perfect...rushing will ruin them. I didn't have smoked cheese, so I used aged cheddar instead. Flavour and texture was perfect. The only minor criticism I can think of is that 3T of butter for brushing left me with at least 1T left wasted. Oh, and I also cut them a bit too large and came out with 8 rolls....but they were cooked at 22 minutes...any smaller and I think they would have been over-done at that time. Make sure the muffin tin is really well greased...I think I will try just baking them on a tray next time. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
this was great we did not have smoked cheese so we just used regular. there is a lot you can do with this maybe melt soe cheese over the top add some other fillings you can just go on and on with this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
simply amazing as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These rolls are a huge hit with my family. I make the dough in my bread machine as a time saver and for dough consistancy. The first time I tried the recipe, I used all purpose flour per the directions. I don't recommend using all purpose flour if you are going to use a bread machine. :) I now use 2 1/2 cups of bread flour when making the dough. Works great. I use rice wine vinegar and 1 TBS sugar instead of port when carmelizing the onions per another reviewer's suggestion. I end up with 15 nice sized rolls that are baked like cinnamon rolls on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yachats, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used my bread machine and made a basic dinner roll dough then followed steps exactly as listed. A+ and then some! Not complicated at all and they turned out beautifully! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States