Bacon and Bourbon Thanksgiving Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I made this for a thanksgiving potluck my friends and i (all students) had. It went over VERY well. I only used 4 cups of chicken stock for the full recipe, but I doubled the bacon, and made one pan turkey bacon one pan regular bacon as some of my friends are kosher. I fed the chicken stock into the stuffing as it was baking, and only mixed a little in with the bourbon. You do NOT want a full cup of bourbon. I could have definitely put more bourbon in, but I wanted less vs more. Overall it went very very well, and since my boyfriend didn't like rye bread I used italian bread and pumpernickel and it was great. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tidem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
For the review written about stuffing...Stuffing is prepared in the bird. If its prepared separately its called DRESSING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was amazing stuffing! Everyone loved it and I gave the recipe to three family members. I don't know how the previous reviewer's turned out soggy. I added the wet ingredients until it was "stuffing-like", I didn't add it all at once and I didn't use it all. I did add more sage because I like a very sage-y flavour, but otherwise it was perfect. This will be my recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is our new family favorite for Thanksgiving. We did decrease the chicken stock down to about 2 cups of liquid from the original amount it called for. Also the recipe is missing the part where you add the bacon back into the mix. But we just tossed it in there when we were doing the mixing of all of the ingredients. The flavors are excellent and we even used a little extra burbon in our gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The Best!! Tried this out last Thanksgiving and it was so popular, two 13X9s disappeared at work and two at home! I've now made this recipe several times and will be breaking it out again for this Thanksgiving, it's becoming my signature dish--its the dark breads that really bring out the flavor. I would be careful with the chicken stock, though, add as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We made this for Thanksgiving and LOVED it. Like the recipe says, it makes a lot, but it tastes great as leftovers, too! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Awesome Awesome Recipe! Tested it out and am making it for Thanksgiving Supper, as for the comments stating too much liquid, THANK you for stating in the directions to add liquid to desired consistancy! That means one can play around to get the consistancy they prefer. I am going to try this time adding some peeled cut apples to this, and tip:If you aren't a drinker, as I am not, omit the Bourbon!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I will make this for years to come. A new Thankgiving tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This stuffing is AWESOME. I live abroad and we made this for our "orphan American" Thanksgiving celebration and it was an enormous, heartwarming hit. I agree with everyone else that there is way too much liquid in the recipe but it's nothing you can't solve by just monitoring it as you mix as well as during the baking process. I ended up "feeding" the stuffing a little bourbon and stock as it baked so it didn't dry out. It was amazing. Thumbs way up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States