Bacon and Bourbon Thanksgiving Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
All the people who said it was too soggy or too strong in the bourbon department should really get a clue! Seriously! use your common sense. If it looks a little soggy or you're having second thoughts about the alcohol, don't just brush it off and go on! Don't always trust the recipe completely. Always use your brain and test the recipe before a gathering! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This is our new family favorite for Thanksgiving. We did decrease the chicken stock down to about 2 cups of liquid from the original amount it called for. Also the recipe is missing the part where you add the bacon back into the mix. But we just tossed it in there when we were doing the mixing of all of the ingredients. The flavors are excellent and we even used a little extra burbon in our gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tidem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Awesome Awesome Recipe! Tested it out and am making it for Thanksgiving Supper, as for the comments stating too much liquid, THANK you for stating in the directions to add liquid to desired consistancy! That means one can play around to get the consistancy they prefer. I am going to try this time adding some peeled cut apples to this, and tip:If you aren't a drinker, as I am not, omit the Bourbon!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was amazing stuffing! Everyone loved it and I gave the recipe to three family members. I don't know how the previous reviewer's turned out soggy. I added the wet ingredients until it was "stuffing-like", I didn't add it all at once and I didn't use it all. I did add more sage because I like a very sage-y flavour, but otherwise it was perfect. This will be my recipe for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This was a good stuffing. The bourbon is noticeable but not too overbearing. As for the conversation about sogginess: I agree that it pays to use commonsense when using a new recipe, but there was twice as much liquid as I needed in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Good, but I thought it would be baconier....also directions don't tell you when to add bacon but I just did it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kvanorman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We only had white bread, so that's what I used. Also, definitely follow the advice of other reviewers in regards to adding the liquid. You do not need that much, and you need to add it only until it soaks into the bread. Then stop adding! I made a quarter of the recipe since we don't need 2 9x13 pans of stuffing, and I used 1 cup of chicken stock instead of 2. I think bf would've liked this more without the bourbon--and I only added a a tablespoon or so of it. Other than that, this was a nice stuffing. I'd prefer the darker breads the recipe called for, but we have way too much bread right now for me to get something different. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
The Best!! Tried this out last Thanksgiving and it was so popular, two 13X9s disappeared at work and two at home! I've now made this recipe several times and will be breaking it out again for this Thanksgiving, it's becoming my signature dish--its the dark breads that really bring out the flavor. I would be careful with the chicken stock, though, add as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
it was a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States