Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Loved this. I used laughing cow blue cheese wedges and I roasted the Brussels sprouts in the oven because I like the carmelization, and then added them at the end to the mustard, vinegar and onion mixture. Great way to dress up sprouts..I have leftovers , luckily.. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
These were gvery good! The bacon and gorgonzola were just enough to add an extra flavor, but not make the dish feel heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robchef
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This was delicious, but it was a greasefest. Next time I will discard the bacon grease. It gave me a stomach ache. I also roasted the sprouts in the oven as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I'm the submitter of this recipe. As I look at the photos that people have added I notice that the brussels sprouts look to be halved or even whole. One of the most important steps in this recipe, in my opinion, is to slice the sprouts very thinly, almost shred them - the way you would shred cabbage for cole slaw. This keeps the cooking time down so the sprouts don't get mushy - they remain somewhat 'al dente' particularly if you cook somewhat like a stir fry. Also, AR modified my instructions and say to add the vinegar when you add the sprouts. I don't do that. I add the vinegar after the sprouts are finished cooking - stirring it in right before tossing with the bacon and gorgonzola. It gives the dish a nice bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Unbelievable!! These were the high spot of a WONDERFUL meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for Christmas dinner yesterday, and it was a BIG hit! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have any Gorgonzola so I spooned in about a half cup of bleu cheese salad dressing. It was AWESOME! Even the kids like it! My husband, who is picky, said "This is a keeper!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdinsun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Served this with beef tenderloin and it was a HUGE hit! It's different and sophisticated--the perfect side dish to a special meal. With the addendum from the recipe originator, I chose to shred the brussel spouts and stir-fry until tender-crisp. Having it all prepped and ready to go made it easy even @ the last minute. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was a great dish to prep ahead of time. I made the bacon, trimmed and sliced the Brussels sprouts in the morning then made the dish for dinner. Very easy and quick cooking once all the prep work is done. Even my husband loved it and he is a pickier eater than my three year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritejane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This recipe is awesome! My husband thought I was crazy making brussel sprouts- until I put this dish in front of him, and he devoured it! Great addition of bacon- and we used feta cheese instead of blue... it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was the first time I've ever purchased fresh burssel sprouts, (I think I've only purchased frozen once before). Both my husband and I LOVED this recipe and I don't even care much for Blue Cheese, (Gorgonzola is a type of Blue Cheese). I did see later that the author of this recipe said to slice the sprouts thinly to reduce cooking time and keep brussel sprouts crispy. I will do this next time, and there will be a next time! Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States