Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Oh, yummy yummy yummy! This is as good as veggies can get! Love those little brussel sprouts carmelized in a little butter w/vinegar....but this! This is over the top! I served this for dinner tonight as a side dish.....but I had it as a main dish for myself! Thank you for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This sounds great and I'm going to try it this weekend. But someone needs to take a look at the photo. I'm pretty sure that isn't Brussels sprouts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Absolutely a taste sensation! I've only tried the recipe with blue cheese crumbles and don't even want to try any other cheese because it all goes together like a horse and carrot. I've made it three times so far (going to do it again this weekend) and it cooks longer than the recipe calls for - at least for our taste. Was looking for a different way to do sprouts and this is a keeper. Thank you Dutchgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
These were awesome tasting, but I wish I would have read the submitter's addition to her review about shredding the brussel sprouts BEFORE I cooked them. My only complaint was that they had absorbed all the liquid and weren't fully cooked when I served them. I think the directions need to be more specific. Also, I used the precooked bacon, because that's what I had in the house and I just cooked it for about a minute to crisp it up. There was so little grease that I had to use olive oil to cook the onions, which alleviated the greasy complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merina
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Great ingredients, but there was Way too much Gorgonzola cheese for my liking. I should have added it a little bit at a time, to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is the best recipe I have ever had using brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My wife cleaned her plate and that says a lot. I loved this recipe and will make this over and over.I did modify a little because i don't care for blue cheese. I used extra sharp cheddar and added half a bag of real bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodneyga

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I only had frozen sprouts and this turned out great! I followed the recipe, probably used a bit extra vinegar and gorgonzola, but that's to my taste:) great recipe since i'm not a big fan of brussels sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is one of our absolute favorite side dishes! Obviously, it's not the healthiest, but it's quite a treat! Hubby loves to request this one any time he sees blue cheese. I'm sure it will be a staple for us for years. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This was the first time I've ever purchased fresh burssel sprouts, (I think I've only purchased frozen once before). Both my husband and I LOVED this recipe and I don't even care much for Blue Cheese, (Gorgonzola is a type of Blue Cheese). I did see later that the author of this recipe said to slice the sprouts thinly to reduce cooking time and keep brussel sprouts crispy. I will do this next time, and there will be a next time! Thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States