Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Served with New York Strips w/ a Jalapeno marinade for a scrumptious meal. This provided an excellent foil for spicy steaks, utilizing the Gorgonzola cheese as a cooling agent for when the peppers flared too much. It's also a tasty dish on its own. It was well worth the effort. While we did not shred the sprouts, we instead quartered them, and let boil for about 5 min, then covered and steamed the sprouts till tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I substituted pre-packaged bacon crumbles but used everything else according to the recipe, and it was delicious! Not enough, mind you, to convert my brussels sprout-hating boyfriend, but nevertheless... I enjoyed this quite a bit. The tang of the vinegar and mustard coupled with the creamy bite of the cheese crumbles gave this veg a new complexity and eased the bitterness of the usual brussels sprout side dish (which I personally love and adore). And lest I forget, bacon makes everything better... that's just a given. I shaved the sprouts down on a mandoline when they were about 75% thawed (I used a bag of frozen sprouts).... but it dawned on me about halfway through that I could have cut the time and effort to almost nothing if I'd used the grating attachment on my food processor to shred them, so that's what I'll try next time. I also might toss in a little extra cider vinegar since I really like that flavor with the sprouts. I'm planning to make this again soon.... would be a great addition to any special occassion menu as well as a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My fiancé and I LOVE this dish!!!!! We have trained ourselves to think of it as a treat rather than just a side dish; we'd be eating it every night otherwise!!!! We eat Brussels sprouts at least once a week so we always have them in the fridge. The only thing that varies for us is how much blue cheese and bacon we use. Never the same amount twice as we use whatever we have on hand. You should see the excitement in our kitchen when one of us says, " Hey, we have the sprouts, and some bacon... Is there any Gorgonzola left in the fridge?" Great recipe!!!! The kind of thing we go-to veggie roasters would never have thought of on our own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Delish! The hubs and I used it as a condiment atop our bbq hamburger tonight... We are looking forward to trying it with steak and chicken! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Oh, yummy yummy yummy! This is as good as veggies can get! Love those little brussel sprouts carmelized in a little butter w/vinegar....but this! This is over the top! I served this for dinner tonight as a side dish.....but I had it as a main dish for myself! Thank you for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This sounds great and I'm going to try it this weekend. But someone needs to take a look at the photo. I'm pretty sure that isn't Brussels sprouts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Absolutely a taste sensation! I've only tried the recipe with blue cheese crumbles and don't even want to try any other cheese because it all goes together like a horse and carrot. I've made it three times so far (going to do it again this weekend) and it cooks longer than the recipe calls for - at least for our taste. Was looking for a different way to do sprouts and this is a keeper. Thank you Dutchgirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
These were awesome tasting, but I wish I would have read the submitter's addition to her review about shredding the brussel sprouts BEFORE I cooked them. My only complaint was that they had absorbed all the liquid and weren't fully cooked when I served them. I think the directions need to be more specific. Also, I used the precooked bacon, because that's what I had in the house and I just cooked it for about a minute to crisp it up. There was so little grease that I had to use olive oil to cook the onions, which alleviated the greasy complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by merina
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Great ingredients, but there was Way too much Gorgonzola cheese for my liking. I should have added it a little bit at a time, to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Excellent recipe. This is the best recipe I have ever had using brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States