Bacon and Blue Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This was pretty good, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Concept of the recipe has great ingredients. I had to add,add and add additional amounts of vinegar,onion,dijon and cheese. I will try this again and see if the second time around is better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Absolutely delicious! (and I'm not normally a fan of brussel sprouts). Made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Made recipe with a couple of changes.....used chix broth instead of the water and added an extra tsp. of Dijon. We really liked the"sprouts" done in this fashion, however, there was too much liquid left in the pan. Next time, I would cut back initially on the liquid and add more if necessary. Otherwise, this recipe is a keeper. I didn't have Gorgonzola cheese on hand, but did have some bleu cheese. Very good with the bleu cheese. Thank you for sharing. this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was fabulous!! Thank you for the recipe...it was a great add to the veggie list!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I love Brussels sprouts, but my hubby is not a fan. He was willing to try this recipe though and I just about fell over when he told me that he could make a meal just out of the Brussels sprouts - it was that good! I had blue cheese crumbles on hand, so I substituted that for the Gorgonzola. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Good groceries. Little to much bacon grease for my tastes. Modern bacon is too salty for me. I used EVOO and added flour making a reux with milk. Also added fresh garlic and lemon instead of vinegar (vinegar is great too). Some caraway seeds and some fresh ginger wouldn't hurt either. Bravo the cruciferous vegetable family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Served with New York Strips w/ a Jalapeno marinade for a scrumptious meal. This provided an excellent foil for spicy steaks, utilizing the Gorgonzola cheese as a cooling agent for when the peppers flared too much. It's also a tasty dish on its own. It was well worth the effort. While we did not shred the sprouts, we instead quartered them, and let boil for about 5 min, then covered and steamed the sprouts till tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I substituted pre-packaged bacon crumbles but used everything else according to the recipe, and it was delicious! Not enough, mind you, to convert my brussels sprout-hating boyfriend, but nevertheless... I enjoyed this quite a bit. The tang of the vinegar and mustard coupled with the creamy bite of the cheese crumbles gave this veg a new complexity and eased the bitterness of the usual brussels sprout side dish (which I personally love and adore). And lest I forget, bacon makes everything better... that's just a given. I shaved the sprouts down on a mandoline when they were about 75% thawed (I used a bag of frozen sprouts).... but it dawned on me about halfway through that I could have cut the time and effort to almost nothing if I'd used the grating attachment on my food processor to shred them, so that's what I'll try next time. I also might toss in a little extra cider vinegar since I really like that flavor with the sprouts. I'm planning to make this again soon.... would be a great addition to any special occassion menu as well as a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
My fiancé and I LOVE this dish!!!!! We have trained ourselves to think of it as a treat rather than just a side dish; we'd be eating it every night otherwise!!!! We eat Brussels sprouts at least once a week so we always have them in the fridge. The only thing that varies for us is how much blue cheese and bacon we use. Never the same amount twice as we use whatever we have on hand. You should see the excitement in our kitchen when one of us says, " Hey, we have the sprouts, and some bacon... Is there any Gorgonzola left in the fridge?" Great recipe!!!! The kind of thing we go-to veggie roasters would never have thought of on our own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States