Bacon and Balsamic Glazed Sugar Snap Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
TASTES WONDERFUL!!! Next time I'll drain some of the grease before adding the peas. Other than that, no alterations needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Some of the grease needs to be drained off before adding the balsamic - the greasy balsamic sauce wasn't very appealing. I used regular sugar (couldn't see where 1 T. of turdinado vs. regular sugar would make any difference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I drained off most of the grease, and next time would keep even less. I used regular sugar and thought it was good. I added the vinegar and sugar first and let it cook down a little bit before adding the peas. Overall, quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I love snap peas and this glaze is so yummy. The only tweak I make is adding some slivered almonds on top right before serving. I love the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Loved this! Drained off some of the bacon grease. Added the peas, sugar and vinegar all together and only cooked for a few minutes as I like my veggies almost raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe pretty closely, although I did drain about 1/3 of the bacon grease before adding the snap peas. I thought the snap peas ended up overcooked using the cook times in this recipe, although I will admit I like very crisp veggies. In the future, I will immediately add the sugar and vinegar right when I add the snap peas. It was distressing to me to watch the peas loose their beautiful bright green color as the vinegar was reducing. Also, I thought it was slightly sweet, and would probably only use half as much sugar in the future. I did buy Sugar in the Raw, but I'm not sure why you couldn't use regular sugar, or even honey. Of course, since I had to buy a box of 100 packets of Sugar in the Raw, I can make this recipe another 33 times before I have to worry about what kind of sweetener to use... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This recipe took a package of tired looking sugar snap peas and made them into something my kids raved about. One of the best "impact" side dishes I have made in quite awhile. I might moderate the amount of bacon grease I use the the next time to see if you can use less fat and still have the wonderful flavor. The first time my daughter has said this is as good as a fine restaurant to me in quite a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Really yummy, and quick! Even my picky 8 year old loves these and is happy when they are part of our meal. I love these in the spring when it's still chilly in the evenings. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States