Bacon and Balsamic Glazed Sugar Snap Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was pretty good. I followed the recipe pretty closely, although I did drain about 1/3 of the bacon grease before adding the snap peas. I thought the snap peas ended up overcooked using the cook times in this recipe, although I will admit I like very crisp veggies. In the future, I will immediately add the sugar and vinegar right when I add the snap peas. It was distressing to me to watch the peas loose their beautiful bright green color as the vinegar was reducing. Also, I thought it was slightly sweet, and would probably only use half as much sugar in the future. I did buy Sugar in the Raw, but I'm not sure why you couldn't use regular sugar, or even honey. Of course, since I had to buy a box of 100 packets of Sugar in the Raw, I can make this recipe another 33 times before I have to worry about what kind of sweetener to use... Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This recipe took a package of tired looking sugar snap peas and made them into something my kids raved about. One of the best "impact" side dishes I have made in quite awhile. I might moderate the amount of bacon grease I use the the next time to see if you can use less fat and still have the wonderful flavor. The first time my daughter has said this is as good as a fine restaurant to me in quite a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
WOW! These are so good! Surprisingly my kids loved them. Even my four year old ate a couple of them. I used frozen sugar snap peas and I only used a TBSP. of the bacon grease and it was plenty. I did not have raw sugar but used 3/4 tsp. of brown sugar. These turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
A nice easy recipe. I used 2 slices of bacon, added a clove of minced garlic and a pinch of red pepper flakes for a little heat. I served this with mashed potatoes, and the Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style (from this site). The mashed potatoes were a nice complement to the bacon in the snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Really yummy, and quick! Even my picky 8 year old loves these and is happy when they are part of our meal. I love these in the spring when it's still chilly in the evenings. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Yum! I love snap peas. I also love balsamic so I knew this was a match. I used fresh snap peas but had to use Splenda as I can't have sugar but it turned out wonderful and less calories also. I pre-cooked my bacon crispy so didn't use the bacon grease but just a tablespoon of olive oil to fry the beans in. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Nice. I followed the recipe and it turned out very good. A little more bacon grease than I would normally consume, but the flavor was superb. Does not reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I love snap peas and this glaze is so yummy. The only tweak I make is adding some slivered almonds on top right before serving. I love the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used balsamic glaze instead of reducing the balsamic vinegar with the sugar. I also added 1 tsp of olive oil and toasted sesame oil, as well as some garlic powder and salt. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Some of the grease needs to be drained off before adding the balsamic - the greasy balsamic sauce wasn't very appealing. I used regular sugar (couldn't see where 1 T. of turdinado vs. regular sugar would make any difference).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States