Bacon and Balsamic Glazed Sugar Snap Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Nice. I followed the recipe and it turned out very good. A little more bacon grease than I would normally consume, but the flavor was superb. Does not reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Guy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by roxz
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
First of all, bacon makes everything better! I followed a few of the other reviewers suggestions and poured out some of the bacon grease before adding the peas. I found the dish to still be a little too greasy for my liking (which is why I have rated it 4 stars). I also added the balsamic, sugar, and bacon to the peas at the same time that the peas went into the skillet as I like my veggies to be a little on the crisp side. Overall it was a very yummy dish with just the right amount of sweetness to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
A-MAZ-ING!! I added two extra ingredients; 1/2 cup of crumbled feta cheese and 1/4 cup of soy nuts. It was absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Fantastic... my husband LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
These are fantastic! One of the best side dishes I've ever eaten. I didn't have enough sugar snap peas, so I added some green beans as well. I added the beans 2 to 3 minutes before I put the peas in and they turned out perfect. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Thank you for sharing the recipe! I loved it! I just added a jalapeno pepper to the bacon to give it a little spice (a whole pepper-not too spicy either)and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizNMedina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The most painless way to eat veggies, ever! And easy, too! I don't buy raw bacon any more, just the precooked stuff. So, I snipped 4 slices with kitchen shears and added to the skillet. After the bacon started to release a little fat (~2 min) I added the sugar snap peas and proceeded from there. No need to drain anything. I did use white sugar instead of raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terpengr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Yum! I love snap peas. I also love balsamic so I knew this was a match. I used fresh snap peas but had to use Splenda as I can't have sugar but it turned out wonderful and less calories also. I pre-cooked my bacon crispy so didn't use the bacon grease but just a tablespoon of olive oil to fry the beans in. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed these, though DH thought they were too sweet. I used frozen peas and brown sugar, as that was what I had on hand. I did like some others recommended and drained off all but a couple tablespoons of the bacon grease. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Great way to jazz up a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States