Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
These are awesome. I found the secret of making them super crispy, after reading all the reviews. I put the bacon wrapped waterchestnuts on a wire rack over a 9X 12 baking pan, and baked them until they were crispy...then I put the sauce over...yum. Incredible appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Maumee, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I've made these twice now over the holidays and they were a hit both times. I did follow the recipe exactly and it's a very quick and easy appetizer to put together. I few things to mention though...you do have to cook them longer than the recipe states (about 45 minutes for us) and it's important that you use a really big (preferrably shallow) baking dish to allow the sauce to spread out. If your dish is too small, the chestnuts will just boil in the sauce resulting in limp bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I found that you can cut the bacon in thirds instead of half. Cutting the sauce recipe in half works too. I marinated the water chestnuts for a 1/2 before wrapping them in the bacon. It gave them more flavor. Then i used the marinade to baste them before cooking. Draining the fat off during cooking time helped alot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
These are absolutely delicious. They disappeared so fast on New Year's Eve that I swear my guests were eating toothpicks and all! Speaking of toothpicks, the suggestion someone made about soaking them first was a good one. I baked them for a 1/2 hour the night before, which was a great time-saver. I found it took another 1/2 hour to get them to the desired 'done-ness'. I did what others suggested and halved the brown sugar, and it too was a good move. Ten people devoured about 70 of these in no time flat, with lots of other hors d'oeuvres to eat as well, so judge yourself accordingly. I can't imagine how many I'd have to make in order to have leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This recipe is delicious. However, next time I make it I will reduce the sauce amount by about half (the wraps were virtually swimming!). I would also reduce the baking time by increasing the temperature, which would also make for crunchier bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
These are SO good - I made them for a family get-together, and they were gone within 30 minutes! I used the suggestions of others and drained off the fat, cooked at a higher temperature for less time, and also cut the sauce ingredients in half. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Weidman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
The firest time I tried this recipe, I made them for a friend's birthday party, it was a huge hit! So many people raved about how wonderful they tasted. I doubled the batch and didn't have any left! I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I did add a few squirts of Sriracha Hot Chile Sauce to give it a bit of heat (just add to your taste). I only used half a strip of bacon to wrap the waterchestnut. I baked them longer until the bacon was crispy. Then I dipped them in the sauce and baked again for 10-15 longer so that the sauce was more of a glaze. I did not double the sauce, the amount of sauce was plenty, even though I doubled the amount of waterchestnuts/bacon I used. I also soaked the toothpicks in water so they didn't burn or turn dark brown. I served them in a crock pot set on low to keep them warm. Since then, I have received constant requests for me to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
One of my favorite appetizers!!! Try also with pineapple instead of the water chestnut- its delicious.. And a tip from when my father made them once- don't use plastic toothpics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I made these and followed the directions except I took them out of the fat and pan and transferred them to a new clean pan. The bacon was rubbery and not crispy at all. I would cook them a lot longer and make sure they are crispy before I put the sauce on them next time! The sauce is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
These are so delicious! I did as many reviewers suggested and halved the sauce recipe; I found this to be the perfect amount. I also cut my bacon into thirds as another reviewer suggested and found that this was ok 95% of the time; the bacon shrinks as it cooks so if you cut your bacon into thirds make sure it's not wrapped too tightly or the bacon breaks. I made half of my recipe using one can of (sliced) water chestnuts (I doubled up some of the smaller ones) and the other half using (fresh) pineapple (~ 1/6th or so?) as dadelson suggested- both were excellent and I don't know if I could pick a favorite if I had to! The waterchestnuts are still crisp and so for those it's more of a texture thing but the sweetness of the pineapple perfectly offsets the saltiness of the bacon so... YUM! I baked at the recommended temp until the bacon was "done"- firm but not crispy- about 25 minutes? Perhaps 30... Then I dipped each bacon-wrapped morsel in the sauce (tapping off the excess) and transported them to a friend's house for her baby shower. Once there we popped them in the oven until the sauce had just begun to carmelize- about 10 or 15 minutes, I think. They were a huge success and the plates were cleaned within about 10 minutes, max! I will DEFINTELY make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States