Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2000
Everyone loves these when I bring them to potlucks, and now everytime one comes up I'm expected to bring these. You can't go wrong with these... yummmyyy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
These turned out great. I especially like the idea of draining off the fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I made these and followed the directions except I took them out of the fat and pan and transferred them to a new clean pan. The bacon was rubbery and not crispy at all. I would cook them a lot longer and make sure they are crispy before I put the sauce on them next time! The sauce is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This recipe is delicious. However, next time I make it I will reduce the sauce amount by about half (the wraps were virtually swimming!). I would also reduce the baking time by increasing the temperature, which would also make for crunchier bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
These are SO good - I made them for a family get-together, and they were gone within 30 minutes! I used the suggestions of others and drained off the fat, cooked at a higher temperature for less time, and also cut the sauce ingredients in half. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Weidman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
I found that you can cut the bacon in thirds instead of half. Cutting the sauce recipe in half works too. I marinated the water chestnuts for a 1/2 before wrapping them in the bacon. It gave them more flavor. Then i used the marinade to baste them before cooking. Draining the fat off during cooking time helped alot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This recipe is very easy to make and has gotten high reviews every time I have made it!! MARSHA_B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
An easy winner, enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I make this occasionally for parties ... it is always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I took this to a Christmas party, it was the first thing gone,and I was asked to bring it again next year. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States