Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
These are a favorite at any gathering I take them to! I bake for 35 minutes before putting on the sauce and then for another 20 or so after adding it. The bacon gets a little more crisp that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Oh my HEAVENS! These things look crazy and the ingredients sound even worse, but these are the BEST! A guaranteed hit at any party! A must have in your recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
These were ok. I thought they were pretty time consuming and they came out too greasy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I cooked this according to the instructions and they came out very greasy and the bacon wasn't very crisp. Next time I'll try cooking the bacon wraps on a rack to let the grease drip away. I did drain all of the grease before adding the sauce, but the wraps were just too greasy. Hopefully the modifications I'm going to try will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMOKINGMAN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
These are absolutely delicious. They disappeared so fast on New Year's Eve that I swear my guests were eating toothpicks and all! Speaking of toothpicks, the suggestion someone made about soaking them first was a good one. I baked them for a 1/2 hour the night before, which was a great time-saver. I found it took another 1/2 hour to get them to the desired 'done-ness'. I did what others suggested and halved the brown sugar, and it too was a good move. Ten people devoured about 70 of these in no time flat, with lots of other hors d'oeuvres to eat as well, so judge yourself accordingly. I can't imagine how many I'd have to make in order to have leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is a great recipe. I have a recipe for this that does not call for ketchup, so, I tried it and added some garlic powder from the old recipe. It turned out great and will be using this combination again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Yummy! None left at New Years party! I made life much easier by just adding bbq sauce (watered down a bit) over the top of them before baking.....WOW! Someone suggested broiling them a bit...but I didnt because of the toothpick! Would add a bit of more crunch though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dundee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
To give the sauce a little more of a kick I cut the ketchup to 1 cup and added 1 cup of Heinz chili sauce. I also added about 1 - 2 tablespoons of soy sauce and a few drops of chalula (hot pepper) sauce to taste. They were great! Oh, and if you're low on bacon you can cut the bacon strips in thirds instead of half, that worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
These are amazing water chestnuts wrapped in bacon. The only change I made was to cook the bacon until crisp (about 40 minutes) the day before I needed them. On Christmas Eve I just added the sauce and heated through. The sauce is excellent! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I've made these twice in the last month for guests....they raved. These are very tasty. The second time I made them I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and thought they were better and not so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States