Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
for a twist add a piece of pineapple to each toothpick with the waterchest nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe! The only thing I would change next time is limit the amount of sauce I put on them. The recipe makes a ton of sauce, so i cut it in half, put it on, and bake it. Can get very messy otherwise. This is a football party favorite, even with the picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Rave Reviews from all family members. We will be doing this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYaJessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Probably the best recipe I've tried for bacon wrapped chestnuts! Normally people just use barbecue sauce but I gotta say this sauce is much better. I brought them to a family party and they were gone in minutes once word spread. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
I have made these for several parties now and they get gobble up in minutes. Even the kids love them. I did have to increase the cooking time a bet to get the bacon crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Very good! I marinated the chestnuts in a little soy sauce and worchestershire sauce. I only used 1 can of chestnuts to 1 lb good quality bacon. The larger chestnuts I halved. I only make half of the sauce. It is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I've made this twice now, once as the original was posted, and nce with a couple changes. Both tasted very good, but I liked it with less sauce (1/2 of it) and adding about a teaspoon of garlic powder to the sauce. Also I cooked it about 5 minutes longer before adding the sauce for a bit crispier bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
These were good but maybe the bacon needed to be crisped up a little under the broiler before adding the sauce and baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
The only changes I made were to halve the water chestnuts (the ones I bought seemed rather large), halved the sauce recipe and cooked them w/o the sauce for a bit longer than the recipe states. Served them to guests here to watch our college basketball team and everyone enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
These were really good, but I'd definitely use barbecue or teriyaki sauce next time instead of ketchup. I could taste the ketchup which cheapened this delicious appetizer a bit. I made two different versions of these (both from recipes I found at AllRecipes), one with the ketchup recipe and one with the teriyaki recipe, and while both were eaten and enjoyed, the teriyaki ones went first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Freeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States