Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My husband loves these. The only change that I made is that I did 1 cup ketchup & 1 cup bbq sauce. It gave them a flavorful kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My whole family loves these! I always halve the recipe and use an 8"x8" pan. I cook the wrapped chestnuts for about a half an hour and pour off the grease. Then I add the sauce and cook another half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Awesome!! I did change the cooking by arranging the water chestnut wraps on a wire rack on top of a cookie sheet. Baked for 15 minutes, turned them over & cooked for another 15 minutes. (Until they’re as crispy as you like basically) Next time I'll triple this recipe because they go quick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
So easy to make. And so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wohletz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
What a crowd pleaser! Everyone loved them, this appetizer is definitely a DO AGAIN! I had a hard time finding whole water chestnuts, so I used the sliced and used about 3 slices per wrap. Each bacon piece was divided into thirds, and I initially baked them at 375 for about 30 minutes then dipped each in the sauce. (I did as others suggested and used a wire rack...) For the sauce,I added garlic too. Once the sauce was on I cooked them for an additional 30 minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
The sauce is a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkochevar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Perfect! I made and took them on vacation to a family reunion! All loved! I pre cooked them and then put in the microwave for a min once we got there. WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
These were delish! I cut the bacon in thirds as others suggested and it was just the right size. I also cut the sauce in half and had enough to do three cans of chestnuts. The reason I gave four stars is because they took much longer to cook than stated. I baked the wrapped chestnuts on a wire rack in a sheet pan at 375 for about 45 minutes. I then dipped each one into the sauce and placed them in a glass baking dish that I had sprayed with cooking spray. I baked them again for another 45 minutes. They came out crispy and gooey. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EVEELANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
My neighbors always request this now. They go quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Second time making this. I was a little disapointed. My mistake though. I did not follow the advice of cooking on a baking sheet with a rack. When I made the first time I did follow the advice and they came out so crispy. Much better. Take the time and follow this step you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States