Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I've made these a number of times and people LOVE them! I've started using Oscar Meyer Center cut bacon and the size, when cut in half is absolutely perfect and makes rolling the chestnuts much easier. I also agree with others that have posted that you really need to bake these longer initially than the recipe calls for. I bake my 25 - 30 minutes drain, add the sauce and bake for another 30 minutes. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
YUMMY!!!! The only thing I do differently is to cut back on the sugar (by 1/4 C) if the bacon I'm using is the sugar cured or maple kind vs. the hickory smoked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
The firest time I tried this recipe, I made them for a friend's birthday party, it was a huge hit! So many people raved about how wonderful they tasted. I doubled the batch and didn't have any left! I followed the recipe pretty closely, but I did add a few squirts of Sriracha Hot Chile Sauce to give it a bit of heat (just add to your taste). I only used half a strip of bacon to wrap the waterchestnut. I baked them longer until the bacon was crispy. Then I dipped them in the sauce and baked again for 10-15 longer so that the sauce was more of a glaze. I did not double the sauce, the amount of sauce was plenty, even though I doubled the amount of waterchestnuts/bacon I used. I also soaked the toothpicks in water so they didn't burn or turn dark brown. I served them in a crock pot set on low to keep them warm. Since then, I have received constant requests for me to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Yummy! These were a hit for my book club this evening. I only give it four stars instead of five because I cut the sauce in half and had to cook a little longer to get the bacon well done. This is a great appetizer and a recipe I will be using for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Made these for 4th of July and there were NO leftovers! I did have to bake them about 15 minutes longer to crisp them up, but the sauce was perfect. I think my Father-in-law at 20 of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These things were gone in a flash when I had company over! I will definitely serve them again. I marinated the water chestnuts in italian dressing and cooked on a wire rack. I have also had this with a pitted date instead of water chestnuts. I may offer both at my next party. Great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Good. The only thing I did differently was used the wire rack on the cookie sheet to drain the fat, I also marinated the water chestnuts in a cup of bottled italian dressing overnight. This gives the bland chestnut a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were ok. I cooked them extra long at first to make sure they were crispy. Then I only used 1/2 the sauce since I just wanted them slightly coated. The flavor seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Really yummy! Turned out great and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is an easy yummy appetizer. We like to make it on New Year's Eve. Not healthy but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States