Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
These are so delicious! I did as many reviewers suggested and halved the sauce recipe; I found this to be the perfect amount. I also cut my bacon into thirds as another reviewer suggested and found that this was ok 95% of the time; the bacon shrinks as it cooks so if you cut your bacon into thirds make sure it's not wrapped too tightly or the bacon breaks. I made half of my recipe using one can of (sliced) water chestnuts (I doubled up some of the smaller ones) and the other half using (fresh) pineapple (~ 1/6th or so?) as dadelson suggested- both were excellent and I don't know if I could pick a favorite if I had to! The waterchestnuts are still crisp and so for those it's more of a texture thing but the sweetness of the pineapple perfectly offsets the saltiness of the bacon so... YUM! I baked at the recommended temp until the bacon was "done"- firm but not crispy- about 25 minutes? Perhaps 30... Then I dipped each bacon-wrapped morsel in the sauce (tapping off the excess) and transported them to a friend's house for her baby shower. Once there we popped them in the oven until the sauce had just begun to carmelize- about 10 or 15 minutes, I think. They were a huge success and the plates were cleaned within about 10 minutes, max! I will DEFINTELY make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
These yummy little appetizers almost never make it to the potluck .... so good. I find that when I bake them the bottoms are not crunchy so I put them all in a frying pan and cook them a little more. Then I add the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These are amazing. I followed some tips from here and put the temp higher and flipped them over half way though. They were a huge hit and will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
yummy !!! i have also done chicken wrapped bacon.. sooo good.. to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
these were good but not exactly what I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Too much ketchup. Bacon was not as well done as I would have liked. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These are fantastic, after reading all the other recipes for bacon wrapped water chestnuts , i decided this sauce would be the best. and it was. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These are great!! I have made them many time when having guests over and they are a hit! One thing that I do differently is that I make them ahead of time and sauce in a separate dish. When I'm ready to serve them I then out the sauce in and cook the last 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckman, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pierz, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States