Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I made these for a "ladies night" dinner appetizer. There were a hit! My husband really likes them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Very tasty. The juices from the bacon sink into the water chestnuts, which continue to provide an appealing crunch. Cooked them longer than called for. Might add pinapple with the chestnuts next time, since there is ample room "inside" with 1/2 strip bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
absolutely fantastic!! I think next time I might cook them a bit longer before the sauce goes on, but other than that PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Villanova, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
These were fantastic. My brother in law, who is as picky as 5 year old gobbled these up. I think he ate half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I don't know where the idea came from, but I quartered the water chestnuts and stuffed them into pitted prunes. I also wrapped them in a third of a piece of bacon and substituted the Worcestershire sauce with Teryaki. They went so fast, they almost caused a riot. Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Oh my gosh, my neighbour makes these, I'll have to tell her to add the brown sugar and sauce....yumeeeeeeeee. These are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Excellent! I've been looking for a good bacon wrapped water chestnut recipe and this is it! I did cut the sauce ingredients in half and it was still saucy enough. I plan on making this recipe a Christmas tradition in our home. However, this recipe is good year around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
this is a very good recipe i take this to many things and everybody always wants my recipe or wants me to bring it again but i use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 ketsup i cook my bacon on top of the stove first but dont cook untill crispy or it wont wrap around the bacon this also cuts the time down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
Very tasty appetizer. I put the bacon wrapped water chestnuts on a baking rack in the pan (so they are not sitting in grease) and used the sauce for dipping after they were cooked. They were gone in minutes !!!! Will be making this for our next Tiki Party!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I made these for a tailgate, and they were gone within minutes. As others recommended, I marinated the water chestnuts in the sauce for 1/2 hour before wrapping them in the bacon. I drained the fat after 15 minutes then baked for another 30 minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States