Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I've made these twice in the last month for guests....they raved. These are very tasty. The second time I made them I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and thought they were better and not so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
My family loves this recipe, although I make the sauce with just 1 c. ketchup, 2/3 c. tomato sauce, 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1 1/2 Tbsp. worcestershire and 1/2 tsp. onion salt. It's a little less sweet and more tangy than the posted recipe and the onion salt adds a little something extra too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I made these for a "ladies night" dinner appetizer. There were a hit! My husband really likes them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Very tasty. The juices from the bacon sink into the water chestnuts, which continue to provide an appealing crunch. Cooked them longer than called for. Might add pinapple with the chestnuts next time, since there is ample room "inside" with 1/2 strip bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
absolutely fantastic!! I think next time I might cook them a bit longer before the sauce goes on, but other than that PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Villanova, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
These were fantastic. My brother in law, who is as picky as 5 year old gobbled these up. I think he ate half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I don't know where the idea came from, but I quartered the water chestnuts and stuffed them into pitted prunes. I also wrapped them in a third of a piece of bacon and substituted the Worcestershire sauce with Teryaki. They went so fast, they almost caused a riot. Thanks Beth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Oh my gosh, my neighbour makes these, I'll have to tell her to add the brown sugar and sauce....yumeeeeeeeee. These are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Excellent! I've been looking for a good bacon wrapped water chestnut recipe and this is it! I did cut the sauce ingredients in half and it was still saucy enough. I plan on making this recipe a Christmas tradition in our home. However, this recipe is good year around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
this is a very good recipe i take this to many things and everybody always wants my recipe or wants me to bring it again but i use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 ketsup i cook my bacon on top of the stove first but dont cook untill crispy or it wont wrap around the bacon this also cuts the time down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States