Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I have made these a little different, with marinating the water chestnuts in some soya sauce, reduced sodium. I usually marinate for a few hours and then roll them in brown sugar and then the bacon and cook. Can't wait to try it this way. Everyone always loves them when I make them with the soya sauce way, can't imagine what they will do with this mixture. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
My late father used to make these all the time when I was a little girl. I finally found his recipe! Or at least close to it. Was a hit on New Year's Eve! So easy to make and put together in a moments notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I make this all the time for when we watch football. I was out of an ingredient for the usual sauce I use, and due to weather, did not want to run out for one thing. Sauce was good. I bake them the night before and then drain them completely. Like others, I use a new clean pan for the sauce. I also have placed them in a corck pot and poured the sauce over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Oh my these are wonderful. I made these for a Christmas party and they were the first things gone. I cooked them without the sauce a little longer than the recipe calls for so that they would be a bit more crispy. This recipe will stay in my favorites for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Good recipe, I added the twist to mine of marinating chestnuts and bamboo shoots in soy sauce and balsamic vinegar, then wrapping them both in bacon. For the sauce I substitute 1 of the cups of ketchup for a mix of bbq sauce and honey dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shon Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
As always it was a huge success...my version is 4 cans of water chestnuts (drained of course). 2 pounds of bacon...sauce recipe as above (not doubled). Cut bacon in half, wrap 1/2 around a whole chestnut and secure with the toothpick, place on a wire rack in a "half sheet cake pan" because they all fit. Bake for about 20 minutes without sauce to crisp up the bacon (plus or minus depending on your oven.) Drain the bacon fat...Put them and the rake back into the pan and baste the little goodies with the sauce...then I poured the rest of the sauce over them. Finish baking another 30 minutes or so (again, depends on your oven)...They were devoured!!! People ask for the recipe all the time...YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Zasada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carebear
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Oh i love bacon and i like water chestnuts so i just had to try it and OMG it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
MMM good ... I bring it to parties all the time and no left overs. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MizzTona
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Just made these for a party and they turned out great! The only modification I did was 1 less cup of ketchup. I had to literally STOP myself from eating these tasty treats before the party began and once the party started, I ate most of the plate myself. I used a thicker cut bacon and was able to wrap 3 chestnuts per slice of bacon. Delish and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Baked for 10-15 min on a baking sheet with a wire rack without sauce, then basted with the sauce and baked another 30 min. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States