Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
These were really really good. I didn't have chili sauce so I used 1/3 cup tomato sauce and 2 Tablespoons chili powder (to make my own chili sauce) and they still turned out good! At my next party, I'm making these. You don't even have to fry the bacon before wrapping them over the chestnuts so they're easy. The only problem is you have to use 2 baking sheets and transfer them to get them out of the grease, but who cares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
These go FAST where ever I take them. I do cut the bacon into thirds, and cook them a little longer, as I like my bacon crisp. If I am taking them somewhere, I cook them first, transfer them to another dish, add the sauce and cook that when I get there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckingham, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Easy, delicious, and a new appetizer to celebrate our holidays with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
These are absolutely the best I've ever tasted. Period. I did fry them first to get a nice brown on the bacon, and to get rid of the grease. Great contribution!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
YUM!! I made a double batch for my birthday party and they were the first snack completely gone! I've made them since for just my husband and I, and we can't get enough of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hallsville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
WONDERFUL! I've been making this version for years and it's a family favorite! We use Miracle Whip in place of mayo for a super flavor. There are never any left! If you haven't tried these, you just GOTTA! To prevent toothpicks from burning, soak in water about 20 minutes prior to spearing water chestnut. Excellent appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Huge hit at my holiday party!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
It doesn't get any better than this. No matter where I take this dish it is the first to go and people beg me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This was very good! I cut the bacon in thirds. I used Miracle Whip instead of mayo for more tang. I also baked this longer, as I like my bacon more crispy. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
Simple, quick, delicious, and has a wonderful overall texture. Pan fried bacon, and patted-off fat prior to wrapping around w.chestnuts. I cut bacon strips in 3RDs, as other reviewers had done but I didn't care for the 'presentation:' Strips were too short& w.chestnut not completely covered. I wasn't impressed with the aroma of the 'barbeque sauce,' because it just smelt like mayo (I used Miracle Whip) mixed with ketchup), but it cooked-up very flavourfully! Used excess sauce over defrosted shrimp, skewered & grilled on stove top w/lemon & cracked pepper: Also very tasty. I love this quick snack which seems to be The Choice for a snack/tide-me-over while preparing weeknight dinners! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States