Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This is ALWAYS a hit! Just a suggestion from experience: stretch the recipe by cutting the bacon into thirds instead of half - just as good! Also, after wrapping the bacon around the chestnut, fry it in a skillet...leaving the grease. Then transfer to baking dish and cover with sauce to heat thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
WONDERFUL! I've been making this version for years and it's a family favorite! We use Miracle Whip in place of mayo for a super flavor. There are never any left! If you haven't tried these, you just GOTTA! To prevent toothpicks from burning, soak in water about 20 minutes prior to spearing water chestnut. Excellent appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
These are very yummy! I had them at a christmas get together and now they are a favorite that I make all the time. I will have to get a picture up the next time I make them for all you that may be skeptical about trying them. I also soak the chestnuts in soy sauce for a few minutes and dredge them in some brown sugar before rolling them up, it adds some extra flovor. The key is to make sure to get the bacon real crisp, MAKE SURE TO DRAIN THEM, and when you add the sauce dont cook to long or it will create grease in the sauce from the bacon...cook just enough to heat. They look wonderful and the sweetness, bacon, and crunch go great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I have made these twice now and find them much better than the recipes calling for ketchup. I fried the bacon until it just started going a wee bit brown before wrapping them around the water chestnuts. I also added a few drops of hot sauce to the mixture before brushing it on. One more thing -Use a broiling pan when you first put them in the oven so the fat will drain off. Then, if you want you can use a glass pan once you put on the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Fantastic! I made this using homemade chili sauce and Miracle Whip. This was to DIE for. I cooked the bacon first - not completely done, but almost. Then I drained the fat, wrapped the water chestnuts, covered with the sauce, and baked them about 20 minutes, maybe a little more. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
I just tried this in a cooking class and our instructor suggested using Miracle Whip to give it that tangy flavor. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are fabulous! If I have a party and don't serve these I am in TROUBLE! The sauce makes enough to double the recipe. I use a thin bacon and cut it into thirds, then wrap each chestnut in a third of the whole strip. I also bake it longer, approx 40 minutes as I like the bacon crisp! Its a must have staple for any party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This is a great appetizer. Instead of chili sauce, I used a bit of tobasco...really added that extra kick! I have used this over and over again...always the first to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STREEVES1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make this appetizer around the holidays and they are usually gone instantly!!!! Even my picky brother will eat them!!! I usually broil them towards the end so the bacon can crisp up a bit!!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danieloves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinmundy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I tried this recipe for a birthday party and everyone loved it. I think everyone at the party complimented me on how good they were. This is my new favorite dish to pass. Double up on the recipe! Cathy Mason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States