Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Godd. Difficult to crisp the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is a recipe I have used for years. We love them so much. The only problem is that they go so quickly. Always make more than you need or you will have guests looking for them. Bake them til they are crispy and let cool slightly before serving, the glaze will burn and if you are like me you can't wait to pop one in. I always have to put some to the side for my mother-in-law, I got her hooked, with every one she eats she says "this is so bad" and giggles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
So happy to find this recipe again! I used to make these years ago and recently thought about making them again for an "Oscar" appetizer party I was having. I searched through many recipes that called for only ketchup/chili sauce and brown sugar, but I was pretty sure that the ones I made called for mayo. There's just something about the addition of mayo that makes the dish. I want you to know that, for this party, I also made bacon-wrapped scallops. These water chestnuts flew off the platter much faster than the scallops and my friends and family love scallops! Thank you, Karen, for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Maybe I didn't use a the right kind of chile sauce. But just not as yummy as others I have made and tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Waite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I love this recipe. Very easy, a little tedious to wrap but well worth it. I make these for all my parties and there are never any left over. I do leave half the batch without the sauce and just have it available for dipping if people want it. Either way it is a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made these on New Year's Eve and although they were very good, I think next time I'll try the Thai Chili Sauce because I felt that it still needed something more for flavor. I did use 2 cans of water chestnuts whole instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this recipe for a Christmas party. Everyone loved it, especially the sauce. I did make one change when using the sauce. I brushed the bacon wrapped chestnuts with it instead of pouring it over before I put it back in the oven. Then when I served them, I also served the sauce as a dipping sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My family didn't care for these. We had to cook the wraps about 35 minutes without the sauce to make sure the bacon was crispy. Sorry, but we prefer the traditional sauce with ketchup and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I cut out the mayo. The men loved them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is a pretty tasty recipe to start with. The bacon took quite a bit longer to brown than indicated (at least 30 minutes more), and we didn't care for the overwhelming taste of mayo over the other sauce ingredients. The second time we tried them, we added about 1/2 tsp. of dried mustard, an additional 2 tblsp. of chili sauce, and a splash of lime juice. They browned better after cooking them on racks for the first stretch, and turning once. Whether you change pans or not, they'll still sit in a little grease as the bacon continues to cook. So we basted them, rather than poured-over, and flipped them again before a second basting with the remaining sauce. Still not "perfect," but darn yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States