Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I loved the addition of mayo to this classic recipe! I recommend at least doubling this recipe if you have a crowd because they always go so fast. I did take other reviewers suggestions and marinated the water chesnuts prior to wrapping them in bacon that I partially cooked on the stove. This gives the chestnuts more flavor and the bacon is extra crispy w/out having to bake them forever. Pre-cooking the bacon made them less greasy too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Amazing. I made these for a Christmas party and they were gone instantly. Everyone enjoyed them and wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is easy and fabulous, it was a huge hit with my teenagers and their friends. They request I make this at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made these for a New Years Eve Party. They went first. I soaked them in a little soy sauce overnight first. They took longer than 20 minutes in the oven to crisp up. I cut the bacon into thirds and it worked for two cans of water chestnuts. Very good appetizer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinbin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ironwood, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalkaska, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This is a WONDERFUL recipe!! I just got asked to bring it to a New Year's party because my girlfriend's hubby and mine both LOVE it. It's great guy-food but us gals love it too. The recipe is excellent just the way it is but I think next time I'll use center-cut bacon as it's bit easier to deal with. Make sure you cook it till your bacon is nice and crispy. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These are one of our favorites every event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This recipe was awesome! It's super easy the traditional way, but substituting chili sauce for ketchup was genius! They had great flavor, and everyone at my party said they'd had rumaki before, but mine was the best EVER :) Like other viewers, I cooked the bacon much longer than called for in the recipe- no one wants to eat soggy bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCosgrove83179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Easy to make and where very good. They went very quickly at my Halloween party and are worth doing for any other party I might have in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebro, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponce De Leon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I used "rooster brand' chili garlic sauce and miracle whip and as my hubby and i don't like sweet i skipped the sugar--EXCELENT! Was quite spicy-i also cooked the bacon wrapped chestnuts longer-till they were qhite crisp then baked with sauce- yum yum yum- ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
These never last at our parties! I use El Patio mexican tomato sauce as the chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Fernando, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States