Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Such a refreshing and inexpensive alternative to scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPYGIRLLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was pretty good. I used tapatio for the chili sauce since I was clueless about what kind of chili sauce to use since there are so many different types of chiles out there. I mean "chili sauce" is a pretty ambiguous ingredient. It could mean anything, so I used tapatio. Was anyone else stressing about what kind of chili sauce to use? I almost didn't make this because I didn't know what "chili sauce" meant. Anyway, it turned out good. Next time I'll try it using miracle whip and some other random sauce with some kind of chile in it. I precooked the bacon halfway before wrapping the chestnuts. I think it helps the chestnuts keep their crunch while in the oven. And of course the bacon gets crunchier sooner! Anyway, I'm going to serve this to my boyfriend some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delishessss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is so easy and so tasty. I used 1/3 strip of bacon for each. Aside from that did everything per the recipe. Highly recommend. Easy and tasty. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I love bacon and waterchestnuts, but this recipe didn't quite work out. Maybe if I marinated the waterchestnuts a bit longer (overnight), that may have made a difference. Everyone devoured it, but I think because it was a strange flavor vs. such a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This has been a favorite for years. It's my signature appetizer. Ususally I cook the bacon until just before it starts to get crisp before wrapping the water chestnuts, then I pour the sauce over them and let them marinate a few hours or overnight before cooking. This way you can do almost all of it ahead of time. You can even do all the prep except the baking and freeze until you need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ahoskie, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
My husband absolutely loved them. I drained the grease three times and used lower sodium bacon to make us feel a little bit better about being so naughty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharJ

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beattyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
These were awesome! I used miracle whip instead of mayonaisse. I baked these for about 20 minutes, but the bacon wasn't crispy enough. I broiled them until it was crispy, then I put the sauce on and baked some more. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lili Goehring

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I make these often and always get asked to make them for our family get togethers...great recipe...the only problem with them is how addicting they are and how fast they go!! I agree with other viewers...double the recipe at least...these really go fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Sooooo good! I tried two of the bacon wraped recipes one where you marinate the chesnuts in soy sause and then rolled them in brown sugar and then wrapped them in bacon and this one. Everyone loved this one more. I liked it best when I combined the two. The sause really is the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I took these to a Super Bowl party and every single one was eaten before the first quarter was over! They are amazing! I didn't have time to cook the bacon before I put them in the over as previous reviews had suggested, but they turned out crispy and delicious anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mahomet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States