Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This recipe is out of this world. I have used it twice for events and get rave reviews. The sauce is spectacular and so easy. I'm going to use it on other foods like chicken and ribs. All that and it is easy to do. I use a broiler pan so all the grease drips off and I do put them under the broiler to ensure crispness but do so with a careful eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These went over great at the Christmas party. And they take so little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
A surprising hit! I used turkey bacon and cut the strips into thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are yummy! I made them on my husband's birthday for him to munch on while waiting for the meal. He loved them! He never has requests, but when he came home from the grocery store, he had more bacon and water chestnuts for me to make them again. :) I used whole water chestnuts and cut them in half on the second batch. They weren't as crunchy, but still good. I also cut the bacon into thirds and wrapped around each half. My husband likes spicy foods so I also threw in some hot sauce in the sauce I left over for dipping. I highly recommend making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nemo, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make this appetizer around the holidays and they are usually gone instantly!!!! Even my picky brother will eat them!!! I usually broil them towards the end so the bacon can crisp up a bit!!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danieloves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinmundy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Excellent! This is one of my very favorite appetizers of all time. It's so worth all of that wrapping. Always a big hit, everyone always loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was an amazing idea, i realized too late that i didnt have chili sauce so i used some cheyanne pepper and katsup instead. probably would have been better with chili sauce, but we will definately make this again!! even the people who said they HATED water chestnuts really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODDESDARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I just can't believe that some users are giving this less that five stars! I made these for a pool party and they flew off the plate! Following the advice of previous reviewers, I baked the chestnuts on a cooling rack set on a cookie sheet so the bacon drained off while the chestnuts were cooking. I then dipped them in the sauce and put them back on the same rack. They were fabulous! If I could give them more than five stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These were pretty good. I fried the bacon until it was almost done before wrapping around the chestnut and then it didn't need to be in the oven very long. The sauce was great, I used ketchup and a bit of hot sauce instead of chili sauce. I just kept wishing it was a scallop in the middle and not a water chestnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FinnGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Such a refreshing and inexpensive alternative to scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPYGIRLLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States