Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
A surprising hit! I used turkey bacon and cut the strips into thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These are yummy! I made them on my husband's birthday for him to munch on while waiting for the meal. He loved them! He never has requests, but when he came home from the grocery store, he had more bacon and water chestnuts for me to make them again. :) I used whole water chestnuts and cut them in half on the second batch. They weren't as crunchy, but still good. I also cut the bacon into thirds and wrapped around each half. My husband likes spicy foods so I also threw in some hot sauce in the sauce I left over for dipping. I highly recommend making these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nemo, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I make this appetizer around the holidays and they are usually gone instantly!!!! Even my picky brother will eat them!!! I usually broil them towards the end so the bacon can crisp up a bit!!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danieloves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinmundy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Excellent! This is one of my very favorite appetizers of all time. It's so worth all of that wrapping. Always a big hit, everyone always loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This was an amazing idea, i realized too late that i didnt have chili sauce so i used some cheyanne pepper and katsup instead. probably would have been better with chili sauce, but we will definately make this again!! even the people who said they HATED water chestnuts really enjoyed these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODDESDARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I just can't believe that some users are giving this less that five stars! I made these for a pool party and they flew off the plate! Following the advice of previous reviewers, I baked the chestnuts on a cooling rack set on a cookie sheet so the bacon drained off while the chestnuts were cooking. I then dipped them in the sauce and put them back on the same rack. They were fabulous! If I could give them more than five stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
These were pretty good. I fried the bacon until it was almost done before wrapping around the chestnut and then it didn't need to be in the oven very long. The sauce was great, I used ketchup and a bit of hot sauce instead of chili sauce. I just kept wishing it was a scallop in the middle and not a water chestnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FinnGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Such a refreshing and inexpensive alternative to scallops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPYGIRLLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was pretty good. I used tapatio for the chili sauce since I was clueless about what kind of chili sauce to use since there are so many different types of chiles out there. I mean "chili sauce" is a pretty ambiguous ingredient. It could mean anything, so I used tapatio. Was anyone else stressing about what kind of chili sauce to use? I almost didn't make this because I didn't know what "chili sauce" meant. Anyway, it turned out good. Next time I'll try it using miracle whip and some other random sauce with some kind of chile in it. I precooked the bacon halfway before wrapping the chestnuts. I think it helps the chestnuts keep their crunch while in the oven. And of course the bacon gets crunchier sooner! Anyway, I'm going to serve this to my boyfriend some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delishessss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is so easy and so tasty. I used 1/3 strip of bacon for each. Aside from that did everything per the recipe. Highly recommend. Easy and tasty. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States