Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Served for our NYE party...everyone loved it! every time there was new batch they were scooped up and eaten immediately! Will definitely repeat this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe and I have also made this with a chunk of pineapple instead of a water chestnut. They are delicous either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was really skeptical about the mayo (I hate mayo), but these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Ebbing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
i left mine in the oven for much longer than stated because i like my bacon crispy and i wanted the sauce to get carmalized. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
ALWAYS a hit! This has been a family recipe for 15+ years. If I don't make it for X-Mas, my cousin from Pennsylvania is extremely dissapointed. *Make sure you buy WHOLE water chestnuts, and if making for the hollidays, get them a week in advance because the stores always sell out of the whole ones* Amazingly easy to make, but use the sauces to taste. I always put it in my electric roaster & let it go for a few hours to seal in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
love, love love these---awesome appetizer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memaof3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I've made these ever since I was a kid! Only I put a dab of ketchup on the water chestnut before cooking. I know it sounds odd, but it carmelizes and really adds just enough flavor to make the appetizer over the top. We serve with BBQ sauce on the side to dip it into. I've done this with turkey bacon when I'm wanting to watch calories, and it's delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Delicious! Everyone loves these! I use a ratio of 3 cans of water chestnuts to one lb. of bacon cut into thirds and it works out perfectly. Double or triple the recipe--you won't have any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
We love this recipe. I use Miracle Whip instead of Mayo (personal preference) and instead of baking the wraps in the oven with the sauce, we throw all of it unto a slow cooker and let them simmer away. Sometimes I'll make extra sauce to cover all the wraps. For big parties, I'll prep everything the day before and get everything into the slow cooker crock (if not removeable, transfer to a storage container) and place it in the fridge - this allows everything to marinate. The next morning I return the crock to it's base and turn it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This recipe is always a big hit. I put bacon-wrapped mushrooms and lil Smokies in the sauce, along with the water chestnuts. I bake them, then put everything in a slow cooker to keep warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bek_127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States