Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Really great! I did have to cook them a lot longer than the recipe says (after putting them back in the oven for 15 mins, I cranked it up to 425 then cooked them for ~25 more mins) but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are fabulous! If I have a party and don't serve these I am in TROUBLE! The sauce makes enough to double the recipe. I use a thin bacon and cut it into thirds, then wrap each chestnut in a third of the whole strip. I also bake it longer, approx 40 minutes as I like the bacon crisp! Its a must have staple for any party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I make this for any get together! Everyone loves this. They think it's scallops and bacon. I've been asked for the recipe at least 12 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke McGaha Gorman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this for a Christmas party and everyone raved about them. They were the first to disappear from the buffet table. I used thick cut applewood smoked bacon. I cut the pieces in half and cooked them by laying flat on a baking sheet. This keeps the bacon from curling up. I cooked the bacon at 350 for about 12 minutes. For me, thick cut bacon is the key. It doesn't rip as easily as regular cut bacon. As for the chili sauce, I used sweet thai chili sauce. They were a hit!! Even people who claimed to not like water chestnuts loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khanhie25
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious! I made it for my recent New Year's Eve party and everyone loved it! Several asked me how I made it and was telling everyone else how good it was. I ended up cutting the bacon strips in 3 parts because half was a little excessive for the little water chestnut. My brother has already asked me to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khanhie25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I can't say enough good about this recipe. I took it to a New Years Party and wanted to take something different and came across this one. I made it and they were hands down the first thing gone. Everyone asked for the recipe and went on and on about it. I have since made it again with the same results. The only thing I did different the second time is to put them under the broiler for a few minutes to really crisp them up and if you have a cooling rack, I would use that to ensure all the grease drips off. Make extra, you'll go through them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Served for our NYE party...everyone loved it! every time there was new batch they were scooped up and eaten immediately! Will definitely repeat this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe and I have also made this with a chunk of pineapple instead of a water chestnut. They are delicous either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I was really skeptical about the mayo (I hate mayo), but these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi Ebbing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
i left mine in the oven for much longer than stated because i like my bacon crispy and i wanted the sauce to get carmalized. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States