Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I so HATE that you ever posted this recipe! I am sooooo addicted to these! EVERY event that I go to now wants these....Making triple the amount is never enough! I print out the recipe in mass quantities because EVERYONE ask for the recipe or ask me to make it again! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Saint John
Home Town: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I have been making these for years. I brush mine with Teriyaki glaze after the bacon gets crispy. Brush glaze on a few minutes before taking them out of the oven. They are so good and I get asked to make them for every work potluck and for every family holiday. Tip: I line a broiler pan with foil and make small cuts so the grease can drain into the bottom without having to take them out of the oven to drain them. I also start them on 450 degrees for 15 min and reduce to 375 for 15. Then I brush them with the sauce and cook another 20 min. I learned to make these from a Pampered Chef Party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Familychef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good. Hubby and I both enjoyed these. I almost didn't make the barbecue sauce but am so glad I did. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
these are soooo good. My family love these. Thank you , I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Really great! I did have to cook them a lot longer than the recipe says (after putting them back in the oven for 15 mins, I cranked it up to 425 then cooked them for ~25 more mins) but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
These are fabulous! If I have a party and don't serve these I am in TROUBLE! The sauce makes enough to double the recipe. I use a thin bacon and cut it into thirds, then wrap each chestnut in a third of the whole strip. I also bake it longer, approx 40 minutes as I like the bacon crisp! Its a must have staple for any party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I make this for any get together! Everyone loves this. They think it's scallops and bacon. I've been asked for the recipe at least 12 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke McGaha Gorman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this for a Christmas party and everyone raved about them. They were the first to disappear from the buffet table. I used thick cut applewood smoked bacon. I cut the pieces in half and cooked them by laying flat on a baking sheet. This keeps the bacon from curling up. I cooked the bacon at 350 for about 12 minutes. For me, thick cut bacon is the key. It doesn't rip as easily as regular cut bacon. As for the chili sauce, I used sweet thai chili sauce. They were a hit!! Even people who claimed to not like water chestnuts loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khanhie25
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious! I made it for my recent New Year's Eve party and everyone loved it! Several asked me how I made it and was telling everyone else how good it was. I ended up cutting the bacon strips in 3 parts because half was a little excessive for the little water chestnut. My brother has already asked me to make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khanhie25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I can't say enough good about this recipe. I took it to a New Years Party and wanted to take something different and came across this one. I made it and they were hands down the first thing gone. Everyone asked for the recipe and went on and on about it. I have since made it again with the same results. The only thing I did different the second time is to put them under the broiler for a few minutes to really crisp them up and if you have a cooling rack, I would use that to ensure all the grease drips off. Make extra, you'll go through them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States