Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Fantastic! We like our bacon crispy so I did add 5 minutes baking time to each round of baking. DH doesn’t care for water chestnuts but loved these! They will be at many parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Excellent appetizer for potlucks and parties. I always get asked to bring these again, even from those who don't really like water chestnuts. I ended up baking them for about another half hour to make sure the bacon was well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Excellent recipe. Made exact to the recipe for our annual Christmas party...not a single one left on the platter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This has been a huge hit for extended family Thanksgiving for a few years. It is easy and you look like you spent hours on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I made this two yrs ago & looked everywhere for this recipe. It's so yummy & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
These are so good. I never seem to make enough. I like to cook the bacon a little before wraping the chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b_v dh
Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
In a hurry, so I put the water chestnuts in the sauce and mixed, took one out at a time and wrapped each in 1/2 slice bacon with no toothpick. Lined a cookie tray with parchment paper then top with a wired rack. Spray rack to keep bacon from sticking.Placed on wired rack with bacon tucked underside Baked 350 for 30 minutes, and then lightly spoon dabbed sauce on top of each and baked another 5 to 7 minutes. Cooled 15 minutes. Amazing no grease on chestnuts because of wired rack and crisp and crunchy and sauce caramelized on top and you could taste the flavor of the sauce on the inside. You can now use a toothpick or pick up with your fingers. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve2278

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
These are really good with a smoked oyster wrapped in it as well. They are delicious without the dipping sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
To save time, I use Hormel pre-cooked bacon, soak my toothpicks in water for 15 minutes, wrap my chestnuts (cut chestnuts in half if larger than bite-size), then dip in the sauce. May be prepped earlier in the day and refrigerated to save time. Less time, less grease, less dishes : ) I bake approximately 20 minutes. Always well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States