Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The sauce is the best part of this yummy recipe. I put the sauce in a serving bowl and dip the wraps into it rather thatn pouring it on top. Fantastic and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Loved this recipe. Made it for a christmas party and every bit was eaten. Could have easily doubled this. The only thing I did do differently was to par cook the bacon in the micro for 2 minutes befor wrapping the chestnuts..GREAT recipe. Will difinetly make again and again and again!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This was great! I didn't have any wooden toothpicks, so I was unable to secure the bacon, but they held together just fine. Everyone was surprised by the crunchy center. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Fantastic! I made this using homemade chili sauce and Miracle Whip. This was to DIE for. I cooked the bacon first - not completely done, but almost. Then I drained the fat, wrapped the water chestnuts, covered with the sauce, and baked them about 20 minutes, maybe a little more. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamilton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
These are very yummy! I had them at a christmas get together and now they are a favorite that I make all the time. I will have to get a picture up the next time I make them for all you that may be skeptical about trying them. I also soak the chestnuts in soy sauce for a few minutes and dredge them in some brown sugar before rolling them up, it adds some extra flovor. The key is to make sure to get the bacon real crisp, MAKE SURE TO DRAIN THEM, and when you add the sauce dont cook to long or it will create grease in the sauce from the bacon...cook just enough to heat. They look wonderful and the sweetness, bacon, and crunch go great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
These were fantastic!! I made them for a Halloween party and unfortunately (or fortunately, depending on how you look at it) they disappeared before I had a chance to try one. I was told by many how great they were, though. And my husband was adamant about me saving the recipe. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I made these for a bridal shower I hosted. Let me just say I could not get over how good these were!! They were the first thing to go. I will definately double this next time. The only think I changed was using Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Fantastic...Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These are so good! I am making them right now. I try to cut as much fat off the bacon as I can, that way I feel less guilty eating them. It still leaves plenty to wrap the chestnuts with. I also cook them longer that the recipe states- I like them crispy. Strange as it may sound I like them just as much cold, the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 8BARRSTREET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I have made these twice now and find them much better than the recipes calling for ketchup. I fried the bacon until it just started going a wee bit brown before wrapping them around the water chestnuts. I also added a few drops of hot sauce to the mixture before brushing it on. One more thing -Use a broiling pan when you first put them in the oven so the fat will drain off. Then, if you want you can use a glass pan once you put on the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Delicious! I made these for our New Year's party and a double batch was gone in 15 minutes. Switching dishes before the sauce goes on is a great way to avoid all the bacon grease. I used the sauce on baked chicken tonight and hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States