Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
These were a hit at our BBQ. I will definately make them again...but watch out, they are really rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
Easy and yummy! I did marinate the bacon in a soy sauce/ brown sugar base for 10 minutes before assembly. Received great reviews. Doesn't get much easier for something that tastes complex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Sooo easy and delicious! Great party appetizer. To cut down on grease, I place a cooling rack on my baking sheet and bake the chestnuts on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This is my signature dish. I bring this to all our gatherings. Everyone loves to eat this. I cut some of the larger water chestnuts, so that people can just pop them into their mouths. I also cut a package of bacon into thirds. Everyone loves this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I used what I had on hand, KC Masterpiece Honey-Teriyaki Marinade with Sesame sauce, and these things turned out DELICIOUS. I didn't have time to marinate, so I just wrapped the water chestnuts in bacon and drizzled the sauce over the top. (One bottle of sauce was more than enough for a double batch.) I did drain these about half-way through cooking, and cooked a little longer so bacon would be crisp. Even though these were great, I'll bet they'd be even better when they're marinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Freeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
These were very good. Everyone raved about them. Easy to make. A little too salty, but that's just the teriyaki sauce. Next time will look for low-sodium ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I usually soak water chestnuts in low sodium soya sauce briefly. ( if they are too large I cut them in halves. and only wrap with enough bacon to wrap around water chestnut once. ) Teryaki was a nice change !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I used gluten free teriyaki sauce to make these. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I've been making these since I can rememeber. The trick is to use the regular bacon NOT the center cut thick stuff. The thinner cheaper bacon crisps up way better, and the thick stuff stays soggy. Also, we don't even bother with terriyaki inside the rollups and it's still delicious. Instead you can dip them into a dip of your choice after cooking, and we usually choose warmed BBQ sauce. My mom used to put a dab of ketchup in there while rolling up, which also adds a yummy sweet touch without being overwhelming. Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This recipe was so good I could've sworn I had just ordered it at a restaurant! That says a lot if you knew my past record in cooking anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States