Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Sooo easy and delicious! Great party appetizer. To cut down on grease, I place a cooling rack on my baking sheet and bake the chestnuts on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
AMAZING party appetizer! I used a tomato-based chili sauce instead of teriyaki, and they came out awesome! I also cooked the bacon for way longer than called for so it was actually crispy. I got MANY comments saying one thing- the people I served have had this appetizer before, but EVERYONE said this was the best recipe so far :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCosgrove83179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I used what I had on hand, KC Masterpiece Honey-Teriyaki Marinade with Sesame sauce, and these things turned out DELICIOUS. I didn't have time to marinate, so I just wrapped the water chestnuts in bacon and drizzled the sauce over the top. (One bottle of sauce was more than enough for a double batch.) I did drain these about half-way through cooking, and cooked a little longer so bacon would be crisp. Even though these were great, I'll bet they'd be even better when they're marinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Freeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
this recipe great when you marinate in French dressing also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyfishbucket

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I've also done them by marinating the water chestnuts in italian dressing overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I knew that thick sliced maple bacon was probably not the best choice for this recipe but I had some that needed to be used so I went w/ that. Loved the maple flavor w/ the teriyaki! Next time I will use thin sliced maple bacon though because it was a little fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Wonderful!! Made these for an appetizer at Christmas and the whole family loved them. Will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlainbelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
I usually soak water chestnuts in low sodium soya sauce briefly. ( if they are too large I cut them in halves. and only wrap with enough bacon to wrap around water chestnut once. ) Teryaki was a nice change !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I love the idea of this recipie, but I hated the taste. It was way to salty! I would definitly tell you to use a differant recipie for this. sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States