Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by RAYRAYL
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I make these a LOT to bring to people's houses. The adults and the kids just EAT THEM UP!!! I cut the bacon into 3rds, and it is plenty long enough. I love these because I can cook them at home and then bring them in a little crock pot - they travel very well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYRAYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I've been making these since I can rememeber. The trick is to use the regular bacon NOT the center cut thick stuff. The thinner cheaper bacon crisps up way better, and the thick stuff stays soggy. Also, we don't even bother with terriyaki inside the rollups and it's still delicious. Instead you can dip them into a dip of your choice after cooking, and we usually choose warmed BBQ sauce. My mom used to put a dab of ketchup in there while rolling up, which also adds a yummy sweet touch without being overwhelming. Try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Sooo easy and delicious! Great party appetizer. To cut down on grease, I place a cooling rack on my baking sheet and bake the chestnuts on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
AMAZING party appetizer! I used a tomato-based chili sauce instead of teriyaki, and they came out awesome! I also cooked the bacon for way longer than called for so it was actually crispy. I got MANY comments saying one thing- the people I served have had this appetizer before, but EVERYONE said this was the best recipe so far :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCosgrove83179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I used what I had on hand, KC Masterpiece Honey-Teriyaki Marinade with Sesame sauce, and these things turned out DELICIOUS. I didn't have time to marinate, so I just wrapped the water chestnuts in bacon and drizzled the sauce over the top. (One bottle of sauce was more than enough for a double batch.) I did drain these about half-way through cooking, and cooked a little longer so bacon would be crisp. Even though these were great, I'll bet they'd be even better when they're marinated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Freeman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
this recipe great when you marinate in French dressing also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyfishbucket

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I've also done them by marinating the water chestnuts in italian dressing overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I knew that thick sliced maple bacon was probably not the best choice for this recipe but I had some that needed to be used so I went w/ that. Loved the maple flavor w/ the teriyaki! Next time I will use thin sliced maple bacon though because it was a little fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Wonderful!! Made these for an appetizer at Christmas and the whole family loved them. Will definatly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlainbelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States