Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
The texture of the water chestnuts really compliments the bacon and sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
I love this recipe!! I make it with out ketchup, though. All I do is wrap the water chestnuts in bacon and sprinkle brown sugar on them. YUMMMY!! They are addictive, so beware!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
The sauce turned out to be too thick and dipping was difficult. I had to spoonon the sauce. Also it too alot longer than the time mentioned to cook. I liked the out come but I'm going to try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I found a better receipe - pre-fry the bacon a little first. make the sauce with a jar of current jelly and chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Recipe was great. We had these at our wedding and not one was left. Although, i suggest cooking the bacon in the microwave a few minutes before wrapping, it was easier to wrap and it makes the bacon a little crispier. Just WAIT till they cool a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This is the how I make mine also but I wrap the bacon around the water chestnuts and bake them until the bacon is done. Usually 350 for 10 minutes. Then I put them in my crock-pot and pour the mixture on top. They are easy to serve at a party this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Awesome!! I love these, as does everyone who has tasted them! I sometimes add some ground red pepper or some hot pepper flakes/seeds to spice it up a little. It's very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I did what one reviewer suggested and omited the ketchup. I only sprinkled brown sugar on top. They were delicious - my husband couldn't get enough of them! I did have a little problem with getting the bacon browned so I put the broiler on for a few minutes at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDERMOM
Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
These tasty morsels are always so popular when I bring them to a party. I cut the bacon in thirds, wrap each whole water chestnut with the bacon (securing each with a toothpick), then dollop each one with Masterpiece BBQ sauce. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes and just wait for the compliments! Everyone is so amazed at how easy they are to make when I tell them the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I have been making these for a few years now. But instead of the ketchup sauce I marinate them in soy sauce for a few hours and then bake. Makes it even easier and plenty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States