Bacon-Wrapped Venison Tenderloin with Garlic Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Huntmom is my new hero! This recipe is fabulous! This was my first time ever cooking a venison tenderloin and I was super nervous and anxious to get it right. This came out super tender and downright moist. After reading the other reviews, I used one tenderloin instead of two, but still used the same amount of bacon. I cut the tenderloin in half and stacked it so that I was more closely following the recipe, but again, it was my first one, so I don't know if that was necessary. Also, because of the comment about the "runny" sauce, I added about a half tablespoon of cornstarch to it (put the cornstarch in a small cup or ramekin, then stir in a teaspoon at a time of the heated cream sauce until it goes from paste to liquid and then add it back to the sauce). It was a wonderful, thick sauce that was a perfect compliment to the tenderloin. BTW, the crimini mushrooms were exactly the right choice. The "earthy" flavor is perfect with the game taste of the venison...and the game flavor is toned down by the cream sauce. As far as cooking time, because of the comments I started checking temp at twenty minutes. It actually took the full hour for mine to cook completely. Great, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious, wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! We have made this with venison and pork tenderloin. They work equally well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My husband liked this very much. I used a bit more cream and a half tsp of flour to thicken the mushroom sauce a bit more. An hour in the oven is way too long, I think I had it in there 40 min and it was medium well, only a hint of pink left and fully cooked. So cook it less if you want a medium or a medium-rare. Knowing that, increase you pre-cook time of the bacon for a min or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Ended up being overdone. I would definitely not leave it in the oven for a full hour. I read the other reviews as well and they all said the same thing. This was my first time cooking venison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was very delicious! I would definitely make this again and recommend it to others. It was tender and juicy. Also full of flavor. And the leftovers the next night were just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
It was so good! It was done in 35-40 minutes and that was overcooked. The bacon was under cooked. Cook the bacon longer than 15 minutes and don't be shy the more bacon the better. The cut of venison I used was very tender. I also did not use the heavy cream as I am allegeric to dairy and it was a healthier alternative. Thank you KGora for the review. It was spot on. The bf wants more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
With a freezer full of venison and tired of cooking it the same old way all the time I was very excited to see this recipe. This turned out very tender, juicy and flavorful. Next time I make it I will skip the cream altogether, too runny and I think it would be great with just the mushrooms and garlic sauteed in the butter. I didn't have thick sliced bacon so I used regular. It is a must to keep an eye on this and use a thermometer. Venison does not require long cooking times and mine was completed prior to the hour this recipe recommends. I inserted a digital meat thermometer with probe into the meat before putting it into the oven. My tenderloin took approximately 45 minutes to get to 145 degrees, however the two tenderloins I used weighed only one pound together. Once to temp, I removed from oven and let it set for about 10-15 minutes before eating. The meat temperature ended up raising to around 157 degrees upon resting. Perfectly pink when carved. The bacon did not end up getting crispy even after precooking for 8 minutes and baking, which surprised me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States