Bacon Wrapped Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is an excellent appetizer that was very well received by my guests. However, I’m not quite sure where you get 20 mushrooms large enough to handle 16oz of cream cheese. I used what I consider an appropriate appetizer size mushroom (2” in diameter) and I made over 50 and still had some cheese mixture left over. In the future, I will use this amount of ingredients for 60 mushrooms which I consider 20 servings @ 3 each per serving. For a smaller crowd, cut the ingredients in half. Per other reviewers, I placed a large rack on the baking sheet to elevate the mushrooms and keep them separated from the bacon grease and water that’s released from the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
424 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I love this recipe, but could not give it 5 stars because of the changes I made for the second batch. I added some imitation crab meat and some garlic powder to the cream cheese mixture. I also precooked the bacon about 1/2 way before wrapping the mushroom. We liked it much better with our modifications. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I have made stuffed mushrooms simular to these for years. It is always a request that I bring them as an appetizer when we have a family dinner. I always use the small button mushrooms here is what I do differently. I cook the bacon,drain and crumble it. I use the small tub of soft cream cheese with chive and onion to which I add the crumbled bacon. Season with a little salt and pepper. Stuff the mushroom then bake them in the oven for about 20 minutes. It's a real challenge not to eat all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Betcha you can't eat just one! I had to make a triple batch of these for a grilling party I had this weekend. I did make a few changes: only used one package of cream cheese and then mixed in 2 cups shredded sharp cheddard cheese, mixed in minced garlic, and used whole slices of bacon that I precooked to the soft stage to make sure the bacon was crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I made this recipe with no additions or subtractions and it was excellent. I am not fond of mushrooms whole but I ate several the first time i made them and because the recipe was so good I made them a second time 2 days later and will continue to make this recipe on special occasions and for the family at least once per week. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
These were good, but the stuffing was a little plain. These would be amazing if you used the mushroom filling used in the recipe "Mouth Watering Stuffed Mushrooms" found on this website! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Britt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I review very few recipes but this is one of them. These mushrooms are now a family favorite. Even my 14 year old son loves them and he does not like to eat new things. Give a hint to all that think the filling is too much, clean the mushrooms of the inside membranes of the mushrooms. The membranes can make the mushrooms soggy when they are being baked. I also cook the bacon brown but still pliable before I place the mushrooms in the oven. If you place the mushrooms in a cold oven and let everything warm up at the same time, the shrooms cook more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Outstanding recipe not only for its taste but for its ease in preparation. I filled my large mushroom caps with Aloette (herb cheese) as a timesaver plus I really like Aloette and have stuffed mushrooms with it before. Also, used maple flavored thick sliced bacon. It was a perfect marriage of flavors. My husband loved them and said this was something to be served at our next party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I've been making some changes and I have received rave reviews when I added minced garlic and shredded cheddar cheese into the cream cheese mixture. *Update For over a year now I HAVE to make these for every get together. They are everyones favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKYSIMONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
These are awesome! I make them without the green onions and they are just as good. I also cook the bacon a little in the microwave before cooking. I prefer some of the grease to be on paper towels than on my mushrooms:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States