Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious! My BF was skeptical, but he changed his mind after he tried them. I baked mine on the non-stick tin foil, but the best part is to let them cool a little and let the drippings (bacon fat and brown sugar) start to thicken into a kind of syrup on the bottom of the smokies...yum! Next time I'll try using maple flavored bacon (as was suggested by another user). Thanks JILL1018! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMMYGRRL723

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Awesome! I have not even got over to my party yet, and the hubby and I keep eating them. Only thing I did different was roll the smokies in brown sugar (after wrapping with bacon). Delicious! Thanks for the great recipe! Christina
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwater, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe, but there are a few changes that I would make...First, I think regular Little Smokies taste much better than the beef-flavored ones. Second, I think it's best to pre-heat the oven to 350, as the bacon gets crispier and cooks more thoroughly. Third, I would definitely line the baking sheet with wax paper, as the sugar combined with grease is a nightmare to get off. Also, the little smokies stick to aluminum foil. Fourth, if you line the serving dish with wax paper as well, the little smokies have a less likely chance of sticking to the plate. Fifth, they are good rather they are warm or room temperature, so if you do not have a crock pot, no problem!!! These are great for football games or any other get-together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Easy to make and always pleases a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
These are simple and excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andyman213
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Simple to make, easy to serve, delicious, they were gone in minutes! Will be making these again.......a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hancock, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Wow! These were outstanding and so easy to make! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
It's rare that I make something based on good reviews and it's as good as everyone said! BUT THIS WAS!!!! Huge hit! I read over TONS of reviews and everyone had ideas to make it better...but I was VERY strapped for time! (a lot of people said to shake up the weiners in brown sugar before wrapping, I didn't have time) I followed the recipe almost exactly but I did listen to some reviewers....I used maple flavored bacon, cut it into thirds, wrapped them around regular smokies, not weiners, because that's all they had (they weren't beef either), stucka toothpick in them...then I put them on the cooling racks you would use to cool cookies, and put those on cookie sheets....I put a ton of brown sugar on them (mostly because it kept falling through the holes!)...but there was a good amount on there..I didn't measure, I just put a big chunk on each one....then I also followed some advice and baked them for 35 minutes at 325 then put the oven up to 450 for the last 4-5 minutes...they were delicious! Everyone loved them!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rohit.chry
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
One Word: AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Couldn't be better. So very easy. I didn't find it labor intensive at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,077) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States