Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have been making these for several years now and just realized I never rated the recipe! These are fantastic. People ask me to make them for every potluck. One tip I have is use Oscar Mayer bacon. When I have used another brand I have been disappointed. Something about that brand of bacon makes a difference when wrapping the smokies. The bacon is more moist and stretches easily to the point where you don't need toothpicks. I have customized this a bit even though they are delicious as prepared in the recipe. I drizzle the wrapped smokies with a little pure maple syrup after coating in brown sugar. I also serve with a dipping saice which is equal parts ketchup and brown sugar, a dash of soy saice and a little garlic and ginger powder. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I first tried the recipe and just sprinkled brown sugar on top. It was good but not sweet enough for me. The second time I put the brown sugar in the bacon before rolling it around the wieners and then sprinkled it on top of them as well. It was delicious. It was like bacon candy wrapped around smokies. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have made these many times and they're always wonderful. I'm a little confused as to what takes 45 mins for prepping though and I'm a super slow cook. I simply cut the bacon, wrap each cocktail wiener sprinkle a lot with brown sugar and then drizzle with maple syrup. I don't even use the toothpicks as if you roll them and place bacon seam side down they work out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Can any tell me why my dogs all split open? I followed it to a T - seems pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Klancher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
A favorite at my house. I make them for New Years Eve and they never last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I often take theses to parties. Everyone loves them. I made no changes to the recipe. It is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Luikart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Not bad....very greasy. I could also do without the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Great flavor! 2# bacon cut into thirds for 3 pkg. little smokies . No need for toothpicks. Next time foil pan, spray cooling rack with Pam, lay on smokies, sprinkle with brown sugar. After baking in middle or oven, broil to crisp up bacon, flip and crisp again. Keeps well in a crock pot with a little maple syrup drizzled over top (then you don't have to buy expensive maple flavored bacon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Love these! The little gems are always requested, always devoured and always repeated about a week later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn Faddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States