Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I was invited over to a friends' house. My friend introduce me to his wife and she was deep frying a snack that they enjoy eating from time to time. The dish is similar to this recipe, but my friend told me that they call it bacon sandwich. By which they use a bread stuffing wrapped with bacon and deep drying it to a golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! Used hillshire farms beef smokies and classic cut bacon. Followed the simple directions and didn't even open the oven to peak. What I love is that the brown sugar is to taste so half the smokies got a coating of the sugar and the other half got none and I like it both ways. Some had a beautiful crunchy coating on bottom and some were more of a glaze. Loved them all. On a side note, I don't even like bacon really and this was for my family as an appetizer while waiting for Easter supper. BUT give me bacon this way and I might just change my whole outlook on bacon! I did eat quite a few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Hands down the best appetizer to take to a party. I have yet to meet someone who doesn't like these. You better double up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written and they turned out awesome! Everyone loved them. They were so easy to make - I'm definitely making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Plato442
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was a great party treat! They were gone within the first quarter of the game! The directions are flawless. However, I made half with brown sugar and the other half with a 'Kona Coast' pineapple & teriyaki glaze. When they were finished I drained all the oil and juices and then broiled them for a brief time to get them slightly crispy on top! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plato442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I made these exactly according to recipe. Way too salty. What brand of Little Smokies have you used? It was not the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is a party favorite around my home. Center cut bacon works best from my experience and I also drizzle some maple syrup on top lightly after sprinkling the brown sugar. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This recipe makes me want to use expletives and tell you how @?!#ing awesome these bacon wrapped smokies are. I tend to find a recipe I love and stick with it for happy hours, holidays, etc...this recipe has been no different. We call it "Meat Candy" and label it as such at every party. These things are so addicting and delicious. I cut the bacon into thirds, secure with toothpicks, throw them in a large ziplock and toss in the sugar. Best let them marinate as long as possible in a ziplock overnight and you will end up with a nice, thick sugary glaze you can baste with. I put them in for 45 mins at 350 then jack it up to 375 for another 15. If you can turn them once during cooking it helps. Seriously - even if you burn these they are fracking awesome!! Thanks so much! Make a double batch, yo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
It's bacon and smokies...what's not to love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,083) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States