Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I really must be behind the times because I just started making these, but at least I had the benefit of reading all the reviews for mistakes and triumphs. My first try at these were good, my husband loved them as he loves anything he shouldn't be eating, cholesterol levels, you know. My second try was even better. I was trying to figure a a way to make the brown sugar stick better and cut down the amount of bacon used (party pooper...that's me). I partially froze my bacon so it would cut easier. Then I cut it in thirds and then stacked the bacon in 3 stacks and cut it lengthwise thus stretching the amount of bacon to twice the number of smokies. It worked, there was really no difference in flavor at all. Plus, after wrapping the smokies I rolled them through a bit of maple syrup THEN rolled them through the brown sugar, the sugar really stuck. I foiled lined a sheet and sprayed the heck out of it, nothing stuck to the foil . I also put about 7 or 8 on a skewer and was able to turn them more quickly without having to turn the temperature up, no need to broil with the lesser amount of bacon it was nice and crispy. No need for a Crock Pot either, these babies were gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Pedersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Yes I have done this a few times. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Ir
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking4joe&mollie
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've made this twice now! I figured out they taste even better with pork smokies. Hubby prefers them with out the brown sugar and I think he's nuts! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
my go to for pot lucks & appetizers. super easy. big hit! I sometimes prep them the night before and then just bake them on the day I need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA SEIBERT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Did this for New Year's Eve, friends and I loved it!! I changed the recipe a little I mixed 1/4 real maple sugar and 2/4 brown sugar It was delicious. ?? Maybe next time i'll put more maple ?? And I made a little mistake with the pan, didn't realize it would make grease and used a pizza pan.. not a good idea ?? I will definitely make this again!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I used all the same ingredients, but I assembled them different. I put the brown sugar on a plate, and I coated the bacon on both sides, then wrapped bacon around smokie. I threaded 7 smokies onto long skewers, which made turning a snap. I foil lined the pan, and also sprayed the foil, then put smokies on a rack (also sprayed) over the pan, no sticking at all. Clean up was a snap. I kept them warm by putting them in a glass 9x12 with 2 warming candles underneath. Some of the guests really liked them, and some thought they were OK. l personally like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann Boguslaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Two words - crack cocaine. For those who dig the pig this is hard to beat. I take it easy on the brown sugar on top because too much makes the sweet overpower the salt/pork flavor. My kids would have me make this every day if they could convince me to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Terrific! Don't use thick cut bacon tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States