Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
For those who dig the pig this is hard to beat. I take it easy on the brown sugar on top because too much makes the sweet overpower the salt/pork flavor. My kids would have me make this every day if they could convince me to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Terrific! Don't use thick cut bacon tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Yummy! 3/4 cup will seem like a lot of sugar, but they should be generously covered. I put them in for 30 minutes at 325, 10 minutes at 400, then 5 minutes at 425. I put them right in the crock pot with some brown sugar and let them caramelize on low. A little messy but very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My father in law actually showed me this recipe a couple of years ago but we add crushed pecans to the brown sugar, dredge the bacon in sugar/pecan mixture and then roll around the smokie for baking. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Made as written and they were a HUGE hit!!! Very easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
These turned out perfectly and disappeared within seconds after they were put out. I was extra careful with prep after reading one review that said they turned into a greasy, sticky mess that had to be thrown away. To avoid this: I... 1) Blotted the Smokeys dry before wrapping them in bacon. 2) Raised them on a small, disposable aluminum grill sheet to allow the grease drip off. I think this was a big part of perfect prep. 3) Set temp to 425 instead of 325. This served three purposes: they finished faster (25-30 min), cooked up a little crispier, and I was able to bake some crescent-roll wrapped smokies at the same time. IF YOU INCREASE TEMP HOLD OFF ON THE BROWN SUGAR. Sprinkle it on less than 5 minutes before you take them out of the oven so the sugar won't burn. They were PERFECT. I only made 20 this year, but after they disappeared so fast I'm making a few dozen next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've been making this recipe for years. Use regular bacon not thick. Lots of bcrown sugar. When I double recipe I do a layer of sausage then brown sugar. If I double I dump some of the grease out halfway during cooking. You can make ahead and then bake when ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey Culbert
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Everyone enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe and takes so little time. I followed the recipe but at the end put under the broiler on 'low' for about 3 minutes each side to make it more crispy. This can be fixed the night before and added to the crock pot on warm a couple of hours before serving. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States