Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was an easy and delicious appetizer. Followed the directions perfectly and would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Wilhelmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Photo by apples oranges
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
turned out great! we made a dipping sauce to go with it and got tons of compliments! mix to taste baby rays BBQ sauce honey a touch of cinnamon teriyaki sauce Dijon mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apples oranges

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made these on Christmas day. They were just OK......have had better bacon treats. These were not as big of a hit as cocktail meatballs also made that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Excellent recipe. It's not for eating every day but for a special Super Bowl day, they were perfect. Easy, 3 ingredients! I did use the beef sausages and liked that better than the porky ones. I did put the brown sugar in a baggie and just put the bacon wrapped sausages in there, shook and squished it around and then layed out on the sheet pan. I baked for 35 minutes, they were done enough. They are sitting in a crockpot on low right now. Thanks for this simple yet delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I really must be behind the times because I just started making these, but at least I had the benefit of reading all the reviews for mistakes and triumphs. My first try at these were good, my husband loved them as he loves anything he shouldn't be eating, cholesterol levels, you know. My second try was even better. I was trying to figure a a way to make the brown sugar stick better and cut down the amount of bacon used (party pooper...that's me). I partially froze my bacon so it would cut easier. Then I cut it in thirds and then stacked the bacon in 3 stacks and cut it lengthwise thus stretching the amount of bacon to twice the number of smokies. It worked, there was really no difference in flavor at all. Plus, after wrapping the smokies I rolled them through a bit of maple syrup THEN rolled them through the brown sugar, the sugar really stuck. I foiled lined a sheet and sprayed the heck out of it, nothing stuck to the foil . I also put about 7 or 8 on a skewer and was able to turn them more quickly without having to turn the temperature up, no need to broil with the lesser amount of bacon it was nice and crispy. No need for a Crock Pot either, these babies were gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Pedersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Yes I have done this a few times. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Rose Wetzel
Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking4joe&mollie
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've made this twice now! I figured out they taste even better with pork smokies. Hubby prefers them with out the brown sugar and I think he's nuts! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
my go to for pot lucks & appetizers. super easy. big hit! I sometimes prep them the night before and then just bake them on the day I need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA SEIBERT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Did this for New Year's Eve, friends and I loved it!! I changed the recipe a little I mixed 1/4 real maple sugar and 2/4 brown sugar It was delicious. ?? Maybe next time i'll put more maple ?? And I made a little mistake with the pan, didn't realize it would make grease and used a pizza pan.. not a good idea ?? I will definitely make this again!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Little Smokies

A sweet, tangy and fun party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States