Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I've made these for years. No matter how many I make, they ALL get eaten. Everyone loves them. I have even made a large batch and frozen them in small packages. They're wonderful if someone drops by. Serve with some cheese and a bottle of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Hanson Ostrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Don't forget the chili powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
My grandmother used to make these and they have become a traditional appetizer in our home for every occasion. I once did not make them, had real fancy appetizers instead...everone was disappointed. I use different kinds of sausages and that's about the only variation accepted...besides adding a bit of mapke syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Blanchette

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have been making these for several years now and just realized I never rated the recipe! These are fantastic. People ask me to make them for every potluck. One tip I have is use Oscar Mayer bacon. When I have used another brand I have been disappointed. Something about that brand of bacon makes a difference when wrapping the smokies. The bacon is more moist and stretches easily to the point where you don't need toothpicks. I have customized this a bit even though they are delicious as prepared in the recipe. I drizzle the wrapped smokies with a little pure maple syrup after coating in brown sugar. I also serve with a dipping saice which is equal parts ketchup and brown sugar, a dash of soy saice and a little garlic and ginger powder. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I first tried the recipe and just sprinkled brown sugar on top. It was good but not sweet enough for me. The second time I put the brown sugar in the bacon before rolling it around the wieners and then sprinkled it on top of them as well. It was delicious. It was like bacon candy wrapped around smokies. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I have made these many times and they're always wonderful. I'm a little confused as to what takes 45 mins for prepping though and I'm a super slow cook. I simply cut the bacon, wrap each cocktail wiener sprinkle a lot with brown sugar and then drizzle with maple syrup. I don't even use the toothpicks as if you roll them and place bacon seam side down they work out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Can any tell me why my dogs all split open? I followed it to a T - seems pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Klancher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
A favorite at my house. I make them for New Years Eve and they never last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I often take theses to parties. Everyone loves them. I made no changes to the recipe. It is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Luikart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States