Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I have made these several times for tailgating parties. I put the brown sugar in a ziploc bag and shake a few pieces of bacon and a couple smokies then wrap them up. I also sprinkle more brown sugar on top before baking. If your bacon isn't crisping up, put your pan under the broiler for a few minutes. Be careful, though, I almost caught the toothpicks on fire!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
846 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I made these for a weekly get together with friends and was requested, nay DEMANDED to make these two days later for another party. WONDERFUL, EASY appetizer! TIPS: Definately use foil on your pans when baking. Cook for first 25 minutes at 325 and the last 15 minutes at 350. Use center cut, thin sliced bacon and cut in half. Less fat and no need for toothpicks. Also if putting in a slow cooker to keep warm, pour a half a cup (or so) of maple syrup in the cooker to help keep them moist. EXCELLENT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
766 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
"Meat Candy" is what my BF called this. He requested a creamy horseradish dip to go along with it to balance the sweetness of the "meat candy". I will use the yummy "tiger dill sauce" recipe from Outback Steakhouse. Blend together: 2/3 C. Sour Cream, 1/4 C. Mayonnaise, 3 tsp. Prepared Horseradish 3/4 tsp. Sugar, 1/4 tsp Dill Weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
641 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Definite Man Pleasers!!! Use maple flavored bacon for extra flavor and disposable baking sheets. Cooked for 35 minutes and upped the temp to 450 the last 5 minutes or so which helped carmelize the brown sugar. Hint: If you chose to up the temp, stand guard over your oven as these are apt to burn quickly if you're not careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Awesome recipe. I made these for our Christmas get together this past weekend. Out of all the appetizers I served, this was the first one to go. To ease in preparation, I prepared all of these the week before and froze them individually on cookie sheets. After they were frozen I put them into freezer bags and stored them until I needed them. I took them straight from the freezer and put them on a cookie sheet, sprinkled with brown sugar and cooked them at 400o for about 30 minutes. They came out wonderfully and I will be making this recipe again! I still have some bacon wrapped smokies in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I have made these several times & they ALWAYS dissappear! I pre-cook the bacon in the micro till soft before wrapping & putting them in the oven. I also line a baking sheet with foil, put the doggies on a baking rack on the foil, & then sprinkle the brown sugar on. This prevents a nasty clean up, and the sugar & bacon grease meld. I put the doggies in a crock & pour the grease/sugar mix over them, sprinkle more brown sugar on them, stir, and put the lid on the crock. It really makes a great sauce on them!! yum yum yum hubby & I LOVE these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOWSIES29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
outstanding!! i've made these a couple of times for parties - and they always disapear so quickly! everyone raves about them! This last time i rolled them the night before (so i didn't have to prep the day of). dredged the bacon in brown sugar - and rolled and toothpicked right in the brown sugar. put them all in a bowl and marinated in the fridge over night (mm..you'll have a nice "brownsugary marinade" the next day). baked about 2 hrs before the party - 350 about 15-20 min then flipped them and baked 15 more min. Then put them all in a crockpot on low and poured the "juices" that were in the marinating bowl (mixed with 1/4 cup maple syrup) poured over smokies in the crockpot. kept on "low/warm" for the entire party. mmmm....perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpalm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
This is the easiest recipe ever! It came out soo delicious even my 3 year old loved them! She wouldn't stop eating it. I read some of the reviews before I made it. I put the brown sugar and little sausages in a gallon sized zip lock bag, then shook it. I also used maple flavored bacon instead of the regular (let me tell you it brings more to the recipe! A definate must try!). Instead of using foil I put a cooling rack on the baking tray and sprayed it with non stick cooking spray so that the bacon won't stick to it and placed them on there, and I lined the tray with foil for easy clean up. It came out nice and crisp all over when it was done. I baked it at 400Deg. F for 40-45 minutes and they came out nice and crisp. With Super Bowl Sunday coming up this will be the perfect bite sized snack for the fellas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesiLuGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
We call these "pig candy". This is a real man pleaser. Be sure to use cocktail smokies sausages instead of weiners for better flavor. These are great for tailgating, bowl parties or family get togethers. I don't find it time consuming at all. Just whack your pound of bacon into thirds, wrap a piece around a smokie and stick a toothpick through it. I don't measure the brown sugar, just dump it on. Be sure to line your pan with heavy foil so clean up is a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Wonderful! A BIG hit at our football party! I wrap each smokie in 1/3 a piece of bacon. I did not use the toothpicks, they rolled nicely and stayed rolled without them. I used about 1 cup of brown sugar, and baked for 50 minutes, then broiled on high for 4 minutes before removing to crockpot set on warm setting. Will make again and again! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,077) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States