Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
THIS IS SO HEAVENLY AND DELICIOUS!! I had to type in caps! It was my first time making it and it was really easy to make! I followed this whole recipe (and I used light brown sugar) except for the toothpicks. They were really not needed unless its food finger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Fixed this for a family gathering and it went fast. I wasn't a big fan of them but everyone else loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wisdom06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
It doesn't matter how many of these you make, they will all be eaten. There are no tips on how to improve this recipe, what to add, it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
so easy and so delicious! I made them for a party and they were gone before anything else. The only reason they don't get 5 stars is because of the nutrition value
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
After placing the wrapped dogs in a baking dish, drizzle bourbon over the dogs then maple syurp followed with sprinkled brown sugar. Bake until bacon starts to crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I have been making these exactly this way for at least 10 years. Everytime I make them, they are always the first thing to go!! Everyone loves them and I always have several people ask me for the "recipe". They are always amazed at how simple they are to make. I would give 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I know that I am in the minority, but I did not care for these at all. After taking the time to wrap each one and follow the directions to the "t", i found them too sweet and too "meaty" flavored, which is strange because i love bacon! I would much rather make tangy meatballs if i ever needed a quick hot appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I have been making these for years for both large and small parties. They are very easy to make. Sometimes I add the toothpicks before cooking, other times afterwards. Some of my parties are quite large so my recipe starts with 8lbs of bacon, and 8lbs of beef cocktail weiners. Thats a lot of toothpicks!!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Rucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Greenville, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very tasty and easy. I get a request for these at every party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made these for an office pot luck and they were a huge hit. After reading through reviews, here is how I did it: (Double batch, 2 freezer bags} Night before, using thick cut bacon, cut bacon in thirds and wrapped and secured with toothpick. Put them all in a freezer bag with 1 cup brown sugar. shook it a few times. In the morning, on a foil covered, pam sprayed cookie sheet, sprinkled a bit more brown sugar & baked at 400 for 30 minutes, each batch. Put 1 cup ordinary maple syrup in crock pot, put smokies in and sprinkled a little more brown sugar on top. When I got to my office, put slow cooker on warm til lunch time, about 4 hours. Came out perfect! I was embarrased by the praise I received. VERY easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,083) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States