Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
These are sooo good, and super easy to make. I don't even have to secure with a toothpick...they seem to stay in place for me. Love these and will definitely make them for large parties in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Yum! Excellent resipe for entertaining, Christmas or New Year's Eve! Love it....will be a family tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
If I could give this 10 stars I would! Everyone loved these and I ran out! Here's a tip, if you dump your sugar on a paper plate, wrap your wieners with the raw bacon and spear them, you can use the toothpick to pat, roll etc it around in the sugar. The sugar will stick to the raw bacon, rather than trying to sprinkle it on, you'll get more sugar on and it will be closer to an equal amount on each one. Once you've done this and laid them out, sprinkle some more on them before baking and when they go into the crock pot dump the rest of the sugar on them. Do not use colored toothpicks the color will leave a small stain/run. The serving size is inaccurate on the recipe, the actual serving is closer to 8-10 instead of 16.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Excellent, super yummy, these lil appetizers went really fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Scrumptious. Followed the recipe exactly. This is my staple now when I need a yummy party appetizer. Melt in your mouth good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I made these but instead of just using brown sugar I put them in the slow cooker with 1 jar 16 oz of grape jelly, combined with 1 jar 8 oz of chili sauce. It was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I followed other reviewers suggestions by using center cut bacon and dipping it in brown sugar and then wrapping the smokey in the bacon in the brown sugar bowl. I wrapped them the night before and then left them sitting in a bowl overnight to make for quick cooking the next day. I followed another reviewers idea to cook them at 400 for 40 minutes and then broil the last 4 minutes...BAD IDEA. They looked really dark after 40 minutes! I would either cook them as the recipe recommends or higher heat for shorter time (seems obvious, I know, not sure what I was thinking). They tasted ok with the recipe as stated but then I put them in a pan with the juices that were left from them sitting in the bowl overnight along with 1/4 cup maple syrup as other reviewers recommended and they were MUCH better (the 1 star was taken off because they were a little bland before the addition of the maple syrup). The maple flavor definitely adds a lot. These were a big hit. Next time I'm going to be more careful about watching them while they are in the oven. I didn't use toothpicks because the bacon stuck to the smokies. After cooking, a FEW of them came unwrapped so I stuck toothpicks in them to hold the bacon on. Next time, I will use toothpicks on all of them because we set these out on a plate and people grabbed the ones with toothpicks first because they were easier to pick up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Yummy!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I've made these a number of times and there's never any left. The bacon can be a pain to cut in thirds and still wrap, sometimes I use a half or more than a third and use the remnants to make Franken-meat-candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
THIS IS SO HEAVENLY AND DELICIOUS!! I had to type in caps! It was my first time making it and it was really easy to make! I followed this whole recipe (and I used light brown sugar) except for the toothpicks. They were really not needed unless its food finger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,072) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States