Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cooking4joe&mollie
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've made this twice now! I figured out they taste even better with pork smokies. Hubby prefers them with out the brown sugar and I think he's nuts! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
my go to for pot lucks & appetizers. super easy. big hit! I sometimes prep them the night before and then just bake them on the day I need them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA SEIBERT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Did this for New Year's Eve, friends and I loved it!! I changed the recipe a little I mixed 1/4 real maple sugar and 2/4 brown sugar It was delicious. ?? Maybe next time i'll put more maple ?? And I made a little mistake with the pan, didn't realize it would make grease and used a pizza pan.. not a good idea ?? I will definitely make this again!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I used all the same ingredients, but I assembled them different. I put the brown sugar on a plate, and I coated the bacon on both sides, then wrapped bacon around smokie. I threaded 7 smokies onto long skewers, which made turning a snap. I foil lined the pan, and also sprayed the foil, then put smokies on a rack (also sprayed) over the pan, no sticking at all. Clean up was a snap. I kept them warm by putting them in a glass 9x12 with 2 warming candles underneath. Some of the guests really liked them, and some thought they were OK. l personally like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann Boguslaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Two words - crack cocaine. For those who dig the pig this is hard to beat. I take it easy on the brown sugar on top because too much makes the sweet overpower the salt/pork flavor. My kids would have me make this every day if they could convince me to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Terrific! Don't use thick cut bacon tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Yummy! 3/4 cup will seem like a lot of sugar, but they should be generously covered. I put them in for 30 minutes at 325, 10 minutes at 400, then 5 minutes at 425. I put them right in the crock pot with some brown sugar and let them caramelize on low. A little messy but very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
My father in law actually showed me this recipe a couple of years ago but we add crushed pecans to the brown sugar, dredge the bacon in sugar/pecan mixture and then roll around the smokie for baking. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Made as written and they were a HUGE hit!!! Very easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
These turned out perfectly and disappeared within seconds after they were put out. I was extra careful with prep after reading one review that said they turned into a greasy, sticky mess that had to be thrown away. To avoid this: I... 1) Blotted the Smokeys dry before wrapping them in bacon. 2) Raised them on a small, disposable aluminum grill sheet to allow the grease drip off. I think this was a big part of perfect prep. 3) Set temp to 425 instead of 325. This served three purposes: they finished faster (25-30 min), cooked up a little crispier, and I was able to bake some crescent-roll wrapped smokies at the same time. IF YOU INCREASE TEMP HOLD OFF ON THE BROWN SUGAR. Sprinkle it on less than 5 minutes before you take them out of the oven so the sugar won't burn. They were PERFECT. I only made 20 this year, but after they disappeared so fast I'm making a few dozen next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States