Bacon Wrapped Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I made these for a potluck, and everyone raved about them. I used maple bacon and dredged the bacon and the mini hotdogs in brown sugar before assembling like other reviewers suggested. I did not use toothpicks. I prepped everything the night before. The brown sugar liquified in the refrigerator over night, so I just sprinkled more on top. I baked them for 40 minutes at the recommended temperature and then put them in a slow cooker with a half cup of maple syrup. These are practically foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I've made these a few times now, and everyone loved them! There is a difference between baking them in a glass dish and a metal one. The glass works better as the sugar doesn't caramelize. I also broil them a couple of minutes after baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This was a hit at our neighborhood gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Faber Treadway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Falls, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I've made these many times now and they're amazing! People are always requesting we bring this to parties and pot lucks. A few tips to make the process easier: I fill a deep baking dish with brown sugar, then dump in the smokies and mix with my hands. I usually just cut the bacon in half instead of thirds and this helps them stay together without toothpicks. I take a bacon half and roll it right in the pan with the smokies and sugar. This ensures that everything is completely dredged in sugar. Always line the cookie sheets with heavy duty foil! This will make clean up way easier. I also have a metal cooling rack that fits perfectly into the foil covered cookie sheet. I put the smokies ontop of the rack and it keeps them out of the grease. I usually cook for 40-45 minutes, then broil to crisp them up a bit. Make sure youre watching closely when your broil! Usually only takes about 3 minutes to brown them nicely. After taking them out of the oven I toss them in the slow cooker, sprinkle with a little more sugar, and put on warm. This makes them easy to transport and keeps them nice and warm. We NEVER have left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Par cook bacon so you don't over bake the that tiny sausage and get ready for the stampede of bacon lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Strong mixed reviews from my house on this one. When I saw they were floating in bacon grease, I moved them to a wire rack over a baking sheet. (I am a crispy bacon lover). I cooked them an additional 10 min on the wire rack, then I turned each one over and cooked them another 6 min. My husband thinks they are great. I was not so impressed. The bacon still was not crispy, and they were very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Wow is all I can say. These are delicious...and what a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Jackson Neuman
Home Town: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Way too sweet for my taste...and I'm an avid sugar lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chary Riker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made these for a party much to the dismay of my "eat healthy" wife who was horrified by the ingredients. But even she had to admit that they were "pretty good" which is a huge compliment. I thought the guys would be the ones that went to town on these, but the ladies ate more than their fair share. I'd make them again, but would do as others suggested: Dredge the bacon in the brown sugar, wrap the Smokies, and let them marinate together for a few hours or overnight. I found it a little difficult to coat them once they were put together, so dredging the bacon first should fix this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdirondackKid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
So simple and SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Little Smokies

A sweet, tangy and fun party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States