Bacon Wrapped Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
We make these a lot in the summer and use pre-cooked bacon, cut in half. We also brush bar-b-que sauce on the shrimp as they are being grilled. These are a favorite appetizer and many times, we serve them as an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Excellent. Try preparing the night before, adding a sliver of jalepeno (seeds removed) and put in caserole dish. Put brown sugar generously on both sides of the shrimp, then place in refrigerator overnight. In the morning, flip skewers to ensure the liquid sugar gets on both sides. Cook over grill like instructed. Not overly healthy, but incredibly tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I usually add a chunk of pineapple in the middle of shrimp before wrapping with the bacon, yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made some of these the other day, and thought they were ok, but needed a little something more, so I took some small jalapeno slices, and put those in the middle of the shrimp, THEN wrapped the bacon, and sprinkled w/ Cavendar's seasoning. I also did mine in the oven b/c we were out of propane, and we thought they were much better w/ the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I used frozen pre-cooked jumbo shrimp and thick bacon. To compensate for the difference in cook time, I cooked the bacon in the microwave until it was almost difficult to wrap around a shrimp. Then I grilled them for around 6 minutes or so, flipping them a few times. A few of them caught on fire, but it was fine. Turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Wow these turned out amazing for a recent BBQ, all 60 were gone in minutes! I had about 50-60 cocktail shrimp thawed out. After reading other reviews I bought 2 packages pre-cooked bacon (30 slices) as opposed to uncooked. I sprinkled some McCormick's Montreal Steak seasoning (the best) on the shrimp before wrapping. Cooked on the grill for 2-3 minutes on each side and voila, delicious! P.S. - A friend told me that if you wet the toothpicks with water beforehand they won't burn on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These were ok, i really should have read the reviews, the bacon needs to be cooked some before or it'll take forever on the grill and it'll still have a lot of fat on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I made this for our Superbowl party. I marinated the shrimp in store bought teriyaki sauce for about half an hour before wrapping the shrimp around it. It was delicious and a batch of 40 shrimp was devoured in about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I pre-marinated my shrimp in a simple mixture of black pepper and cayenne pepper, then wrapped them (but I did not use whole bacon strips, only half strip per shrimp) and grilled on my George Foreman. They turned out delicious! I dipped in a mixture of ketchup, honey and pepper sauce and served with fried rice. Next time I'm going to just eat these as an appetizer because they were so good I almost forgot about the rice! Thanks for an absolutely delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I use thinner bacon and stretched it a bit so I never had a problem with the shrimp being overdone. Also I spread a little horseradish on the bacon before wrapping it for a little kick. Instead of toothpicks I used scewers so to turn all at once. When almost done brush a little Bulls Eye BBQ Sauce on. Tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States