Bacon Wrapped Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I did not read the reviews before trying this out. In hindsight, yes, I think if the bacon was precooked a bit, it might be nice (I hate rubbery bacon, ew) But, I did cook it according to the directions, and if you use a thin-sliced bacon, on a hot grill, it did turn out wonderful and they were all gobbled up at my barbeque. ALSO- I did not use full slices of bacon, I cut them in half! But make sure they fit around the size of shrimp you use before cutting them all, you don't want to cut them too short and waste with the bacon not fitting! Very popular and I will definitely make again! I also tossed the shrimp with some terriaki sauce and marinaded 1/2 hour beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Pietrosanti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
I MADE THIS RECIPE ONCE FOR A CLASS PROJECT AND I REALLY LIKE IT I'LL MAKE IT AGAIN WHEN I CATER ANOTHER PARTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
My dad showed me how to make this recipe. It is really good you should try dipping the shrimp in melted butter mixed with garlic powder before wrapping in bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Absolutely awesome appetizer! I served these for New Years' Eve, and everyone loved them! I chose to cook them under the broiler in my oven instead of grilling. To prevent burning the bacon or drying out the shrimps, I placed them as far below the broiler as the oven would allow. This allowed the bacon to cook thoroughly...I turned them a couple of times, too. Wonderful! I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
YUMMY!! I precooked the bacon in the microwave. I cut the strips in half and wrapped them around the shrimp, securing the bacon with a toothpick. Cooking them was a bit tricky. I had the shrimp in a throw away foil pan on the grill with loads of butter and garlic powder. I let the shrimp cook a bit in the pan then put them on the grill for a few minutes. I had to be careful that the shrimp was cooked through under the bacon, but didn't want them to over cook. It is a dish you need time to focus on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Another delicious bacon wrapped appetizer! I used raw shrimps and raw bacon and I didn't have any problem with cooking them. I just added a sprinkle of brown sugar beacause it was a tad bit too salty for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This is a great recipe. For an extra zing try cutting the back of the shrimp and inserting some horseradish. Then wrap in bacon and cook in garlic butter on the grill in aluminum pie plate. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
My two favorite foods. I'm glad I read the reviews for this and precooked the bacon. next time I'll try it with the bacon you can buy premade in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Cut your bacon in half, wrap around "pre-cooked" shrimp (we buy ours frozen from Sam's club-Large size), sprinkle CAJUN seasoning on and grill to perfection!!! We always get rave reviews!!! And SOOOO.... EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
After experimenting our favorite method is raw peeled & deveined shrimp with 1/2 a strip of bacon on toothpicks, grilled or broiled in the oven until the bacon is done. Do monitor them closely to prevent charred bacon. Then brush on Famous Dave's Rich & Sassy BBQ and finish off with one more minute on the grill to cook the sauce onto the bacon. Your guests will never guess it's bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States