Bacon Wrapped Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
After experimenting our favorite method is raw peeled & deveined shrimp with 1/2 a strip of bacon on toothpicks, grilled or broiled in the oven until the bacon is done. Do monitor them closely to prevent charred bacon. Then brush on Famous Dave's Rich & Sassy BBQ and finish off with one more minute on the grill to cook the sauce onto the bacon. Your guests will never guess it's bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Cut your bacon in half, wrap around "pre-cooked" shrimp (we buy ours frozen from Sam's club-Large size), sprinkle CAJUN seasoning on and grill to perfection!!! We always get rave reviews!!! And SOOOO.... EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
My husband loved these! Although I did change it a little thus the 4 starts. I tossed the shrimp in a mixture of my husbands favorite seasoning salt and a little olive oil and let marinate for a couple of hours before wrapping in bacon and baking. I made these as his special treat at Christmas and he and the rest of the family are still talking about them in June!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlainbelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I put barbecue sauce on them and they turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Hubby brought up a good one . . . (rare I know - LOL) perhaps this recipe calls for RAW shrimp? Then cooking with raw bacon might work . . . time wise that is . . . we used pre-cooked shrimp and did pre-cook the bacon before wrapping - will try dipping in a garlic sauce next time to become more flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
Great idea, but the bacon needs to be slow cooked until edible (but flexible) before wrapping the shrimp or else the shrimp will overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
YUMMY!! I precooked the bacon in the microwave. I cut the strips in half and wrapped them around the shrimp, securing the bacon with a toothpick. Cooking them was a bit tricky. I had the shrimp in a throw away foil pan on the grill with loads of butter and garlic powder. I let the shrimp cook a bit in the pan then put them on the grill for a few minutes. I had to be careful that the shrimp was cooked through under the bacon, but didn't want them to over cook. It is a dish you need time to focus on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I did not read the reviews before trying this out. In hindsight, yes, I think if the bacon was precooked a bit, it might be nice (I hate rubbery bacon, ew) But, I did cook it according to the directions, and if you use a thin-sliced bacon, on a hot grill, it did turn out wonderful and they were all gobbled up at my barbeque. ALSO- I did not use full slices of bacon, I cut them in half! But make sure they fit around the size of shrimp you use before cutting them all, you don't want to cut them too short and waste with the bacon not fitting! Very popular and I will definitely make again! I also tossed the shrimp with some terriaki sauce and marinaded 1/2 hour beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Pietrosanti

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
My two favorite foods. I'm glad I read the reviews for this and precooked the bacon. next time I'll try it with the bacon you can buy premade in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hinckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Try proscuitto! However, if you use bacon, cook it until the fat is rendered before wrapping the shrimp. This recipe does not work as written. Read and heed the comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States