Bacon Wrapped Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I REEEEALLY wanted to give this recipe 5 stars because of the taste. BUT, They came out EXTREMEMLY overcooked. I had 1/2" to 3/4" boneless chops and baked them for 50 min.(took them out 10 min's early). The cheese (used vermont cheddar and provolone) got REALLY cooked. I don't understand how everyone else's came out tender after an HOUR even if they had 1" or better chops! I do plan on making this again, but I will only bake 35 min's. and I will add the second cheese 10 min's before it's done. I crumbled the cooked bacon on top, then vermont cheddar, then provolone. My kids really liked the taste and they don't like pork chops normally. I'm sure with the shorter bake time they will be FABULOUS!**UPDATE** I tried this again with the same cheezes, but cooked 25 min's, added the mozz/prov cheese and cooked for 10 more min's. Came out FANTASTIC. I used bone in center cut chops this time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My family, who are not big pork chop fans, really loved these. I did make a couple of enhancements that were suggested by others: I seered the pork chops in the bacon fat and used shredded cheddar and Jack cheese on top. (Couldn't bring myself to use "cheez-wiz".) The chops I used were very thick (~1"). The people who said these were dry probably over-cooked them. You have to be very careful with pork chops, they cook quickly and tend to be dry if overdone. Seering helps to trap in the juices. Anyway, we enjoyed these and maybe now I won't get faces and rolling eyeballs when I say we're having pork chops for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
These are the very best pork chops that I've ever made!! Awesome!! They were very moist and flavourful and so simple to prepare (child's play, really). I added garlic powder and black pepper and I browned the chops in the same pan that I used for partially cooking the bacon. I lined the baking pan with foil before putting it in the oven for a fast and easy clean-up. My husband and I both just loved these chops and I will be preparing them on a regular basis. Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
These were really good. I took the advice of some others and instead of wrapping my chops, I chopped the bacon and topped the chops with that. I also used cheddar instead of cheez-whiz...I just couldn't bring myself to use it. I seasoned my chops with garlic powder, onion powder, and pepper. Then I browned them in the bacon grease left from cooking the bacon. Placed them in a baking pan, poured a small amount of beef broth in the bottom of the pan (hoping that would keep them from drying out), and baked for 30 minutes. I pulled them out, topped with bacon and cheese and baked for 10 minutes more to melt the cheese. My chops were tender and juicy. They were exactly 1 in. thick, boneless chops. They were not dry at all. I recommend keeping an eye on them and not cooking for the full hour unless they REALLY need it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DomesticEngineer2
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I was kind of going out on a limb when I tried this recipe because I was having company over and I myself had never tasted it. Thank God it turned out awesome! I spiced it up by adding monteral steak seasoning to the pork chops before cooking them. I was not sure of the kind of cheese sauce to use so I used Ragu cheese sauce and we loved it. It is even better when you use the cheese sauce that is left over as a dipping sauce. My husband says this is a keeper and I agree. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticEngineer2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
So easy. Very "American" with all the meat and processed cheese! Delicious flavour. Something kids and picky husbands would love. I did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I haven't written a review in years but really wanted to comment on this one. OMG!!!!!! I thought I'd feel like I was eating a heart attack but surprisingly that was not the case. I didn't brown the pork chops as some reviewers did. I put shredded cheddar on top because that's what I had. And my only addition was about 10 minutes before done I put a little bit of Sweet Baby Rays barbecue sauce on top. Next time I make them I will make them exactly as I did this time. Give them a try...totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SALLYANNIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Best things in life are simple, just like this recipe! It is very rich in calories so we won't make it all the time but we will keep making it! I am sure the recipe as-is, is great. However I didn't have cheese sauce so I topped them with half a piece of sliced cheddar (sandwich cheese), and it was still great. Don't expect the bacon to wrap around unless you have silver dollar size chops, just lay it on top and don't worry about it! Super Recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
These were awesome! I substitued some shredded colby jack because that's what I had on hand. We had these for dinner a week ago and my fiance is still talking about them! The pork chops came out very tender and juicy. This wasn't the healthiest recipe so I wouldn't make it all the time. But every once in awhile we like to splurge and I would definitely consider making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was really good. I did tweak it. I used 1" thick chops. I seasoned the chops with a sprinkling of cumin & garlic powder and then seared them in the bacon grease as suggested by other reviewers. I wrapped them in the slightly pre-cooked bacon and put them in at 375 for 30 min. The last 10 min I pulled them out and sprinkled a shredded cheese mix on top. My husband was unsure when he saw me prepping everything, but in the end he went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States