Bacon Wrapped Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The flavor is excellent, but I did make some modifications. First, I cooked the pinapple wrapped with bacon in the oven without the sauce for 30 minutes. I used 3/4 cup chili sauce to 1/3 cup brown sugar, and left out the mayo. The bacon made the dish greasy enough. After thirty minutes cook time, I drained the pineapple wraps on a paper towel. Because of the grease, I refreshed the foil liner in the baking pan, then returned the pinapple wraps and brushed them with the sauce. I then broiled them for about 5 minutes to get a little more "crisp" going on. Hubby was my guinia pig. He LOVED them. I also experimented by wrapping whole water chestnuts, and also wrapping shrimp. Nice contrast to the pinapple, and also adored by my guinia pig. I do have to say that these are a little time consuming to make, but can be made ahead, then reheated before serving. I plan to serve all three at my daughter's engagment party. Great base of a recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
My family really liked these. As per another reviewers suggestion I think cooking on a broiler pan would be great as they were sitting in alot of grease. Sauce was great...just the right amount of kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I will make these again, I wasnt fully fussed as my pineapple was a bit bitter this time. It was still enjoyed though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This was good, but maybe not my personal preference. I prefer bacon wrapped water chestnuts. But those at the BBQ raved about them and said they were their favorite thing wrapped in bacon! I marinated the pineapple in the sauce and then wrapped the chunks in bacon that had been partially cooked in the microwave. Then I served the remaining sauce for dipping. The dipping sauce really made it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
NICE combination. This took a little time to wrap but well worth it. I took them to a party and got only 2. Now I have to make them again so I can get some for myself. Great reviews. I baked them in the oven and then drained them before putting the sauce over them. I turned the oven off after putting the sauce on and left them sit in the oven another 15 minutes. I only made a half batch of the sauce and it was perfect for the amount of pineapple. After draining the bacon fat off, this is the perfect amount on top of the pineapple. My family loves these and request them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I haven't tried these yet, but I think I would love to take these to a Luau we're having in August. I also think I'll partially pre-cook the bacon and drain to prevent some of the grease. They do sound delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nycrickette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phelps, New York, USA
Living In: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
INCREDIBLE! A FAV AT A BIRTHDAY PARTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Dont forget, the easiest way to bake these delicious treats is on a broiler pan, so that the grease drains off naturally (foil lined, of course)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were ok. I made them for a fight night party with about a dozen guys and figured they would get gobbled right up. Most people only ate one or two and left the rest on their plates. It just seemed like the bacon didn't get very crispy, even though I baked it for extra time after the edges were crispy. The flavors were good so I will try again maybe broiling instead of baking to get the crispiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravenswood, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States